Baked Potato Chips

Leave a comment

January 13, 2011 by Flora Dawn

When I make oven fries, my family always fights over the crispy pieces that remain on the baking sheet, so when I was making dinner recently I made an impromptu decision to make oven baked potato chips. I figured they couldn’t be that hard.

They are in fact quick and easy, however, I think a mandoline or a food processor is really helpful to slice the potatoes evenly. I have a very old, hand-me-down food processor, and my potatoes didn’t slice so evenly, resulting in uneven cooking. But truthfully, it didn’t bother us much. They were really crispy and really tasty.

If you are using a food processor, make sure and use small-medium sized potatoes that will fit down the chute. I chose to peel the potatoes, but you could just scrub them really well and leave those peels on.

We seasoned these simply with salt, but you cold get creative here and make virtually any flavor potato chip you wish. Just don’t skimp on the oil or grease, I think it really help them get crisp. I happened to be making bacon cheeseburgers the other day (if you know me you might know where this sentence is going), and I decided to brush one batch of the potatoes with bacon grease rather than olive oil. Those were some unbelievably good chips. They didn’t exactly taste like bacon, they just had a lot of flavor.

Potato slices- oiled, salted and ready to bake.

Baked Potato Chips- all ready to eat!

Baked Potato Chips

A mandoline or adjustable slicer would work the best, I use my food processor, but a knife would also work to slice the potatoes thinly.

  • about 3 TB Oil (olive or canola) or bacon grease
  • 2 medium russet potatoes
  • about 1/2 TB kosher salt or other seasoning.
  1. Preheat oven to 375 or on convection 350. Generously grease two rimmed baking sheets with oil.
  2. Slice potatoes very thinly, about 1/16 of an inch. Arrange the slices in a single layer on the baking sheets. Lightly brush with remaining oil and sprinkle with salt.
  3. Bake, rotating sheets every 5 minutes, until very golden, about 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool (I use a plastic spatula to scrape them up before they cool completely).  Leftovers can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature.
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,902 hits

Archives

Categories

