Cinnamon Syrup

3

January 4, 2011 by Flora Dawn

If you follow my blog you have probably noticed we really like breakfast at my house. Well, let me rephrase, my family really likes breakfast. I am not too much of a morning person, but they have to eat, so what can I do?

My oldest daughter has a tree nut allergy, add eating gluten free, and your choices of cereals is pretty limited. So, I am making pancakes, waffles, and other breakfast fare more mornings than not.

Although my kids would just eat plain ole pancakes or waffles everyday if I would let them; I am not be so keen on the idea. I mix it up a little by making pumpkin pancakes, pear pancakes, teff pancakes, and Johnnycakes. It sort of helps me keep my sanity.

Depending on the pancakes or waffles we typically use smashed up or diced fruit or maple syrup for a topping. Well, here is another choice, Cinnamon Syrup. I am not even going to try to claim this is healthy; it’s basically sugar and cinnamon, but it is tasty and goes particularly well with banana or pumpkin pancakes. It is also a quick syrup to whip up in a hurry if you ran out of pancake syrup.

Cinnamon Syrup with pancakes.

Cinnamon Syrup

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 TB cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup water
  1. In a small saucepan, combine all ingredients. Stirring constantly, heat over medium-high heat until mixture boils and thickens. Remove from heat and serve warm.
  2. Store leftovers in refrigerator, reheat 10-20 seconds in microwave.
3 thoughts on “Cinnamon Syrup

  1. Alissa says:

    I so needed this recipe this past weekend! Going to make it regardless, recipes looks great!

  2. Katerina says:

    This is truly one reason I would let myself eat such a rich breakfast. Cinnamon is my favorite spice.

  3. Sophie says:

    MMMMMMMMMMMM,..what a great idea to make your own cinnamon syrup! The syrup looks great &thise thicker smaller pancakes look like real winners too!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,135 hits

Archives

Categories

