Mighty Tasty Fruit Crisp

2

January 3, 2011 by Flora Dawn

I had a bag of apples sitting on my counter, waiting to be baked into something delicious. My husband wanted pie, but my last attempt at making a gluten free, egg free crust wasn’t pretty and went straight into the trash. So pie was out.

Crisps and cobblers are the next obvious choice for me. Comforting, easy and very tasty. But I decided to try a new recipe that called for cornmeal, only to realize that I had an empty jar where my cornmeal used to reside. So, I decided to improvise and use Bob’s Red Mill Mighty Tasty Cereal in the topping. Not only did it provide extra crisp, but it offered a nice earthy flavor. And hey, the cereal is nutritious and high in fiber, making eating dessert a little less guilt-ridden.

The evening I made the apple crisp, the topping was in fact very crunchy. But after a night in the fridge it did soften up quite a bit, but did not get soggy. This would be great with a scoop of ice cream or a little cream, although we just ate it plain.

Mighty Tasty Apple Crisp

Yummy!

Mighty Tasty Apple Crisp

Although I used apples, I am sure almost any fruit/berry or combination thereof would work wonderfully.

  • 1/2 cup Mighty Tasty Cereal
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour (I used superfine)
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • pinch salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • about 6 cups apples, peeled, cored and cut into chunks
  • 2 TB sugar, optional for tossing with the apples
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Place apples, and 2 TB sugar if using, in a 2-qt shallow baking dish or pie pan (you could also use 8 6-oz ramekins).
  2. In a medium bowl, prepare topping: combine cereal, rice flour, cornstarch, brown sugar, xanthan gum, salt and cinnamon. Stir to combine. Work in the butter with your fingers or a fork until evenly moistened.
  3. Pour or sprinkle the topping over the fruit. Bake until golden and bubbly, about 40 minutes. This can be served warm, at room temperature, or chilled. Top with whipped cream or ice cream if desired.
2 thoughts on “Mighty Tasty Fruit Crisp

  1. callista says:

    I love reading your blog. I dont personally eat gluten free but I enjoy your recipes 🙂

    anyone that wants a chance to get a gluten free pancake set, check out my blog!

    http://terrorinthekitchen.blogspot.com/2011/01/im-back-plus-giveaway.html

    it comes with a pancake pen, Bisquick Gluten Free Pancake mix, a cast iron mini pancake pan, and a spatula! all for free!

    check it out!

  2. Rhonda says:

    Sounds delish, Flora! I’ve just used Mighty Tasty for a variety of hot fruity cereals, it never occurred to me to actually BAKE with it!
    Maybe this can be a new breakfast for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,135 hits

Archives

Categories

