Happy New Year

3

January 1, 2011 by Flora Dawn

Egg free & gluten free, but still having fun in the kitchen!

Well, yet another year has come and gone. I can hardly believe it is 2011.

I am not big on making New Year’s resolutions, but I thought maybe I could make some positive food resolutions, or at least attempts, as we usher in the new year. I thought I would share the changes you can expect this year.

For starters, are you sitting down, I am going to try menu planning. Okay, so if you know me, you are probably laughing. I am notoriously throwing something together as the five o’clock hour approaches. Well, truthfully, it is when my husband comes home from work and asks me what’s for dinner that I typically start thinking about my dinner options.

I just like to cook what I feel like, what was on sale at the grocery store, what looked great at the farmer’s market, what sounds good that particular evening. But, notice I did say TRY. This is an attempt. I am going to try and plan at least the idea of the meal, say fish on this day, but leave what kind of fish up to what looks good at the market. I think I’ll feel less stifled this way and hopefully end up more organized. I am planning on posting my weekly menu plans.

Next, we are going to try to participate in the Meatless Monday movement. The idea is simple, one day a week cut out meat from your diet. It’s good for your health and good for the planet, and I would even argue it’s good for the wallet. I think this will be a healthy change, and at least once a week get us focusing a meal around something other than the meat. I have some vegetarian cookbooks and lots of great recipes so I think it’ll be a fun adventure and a nice change for my family. Of course I’ll be posting all our favorite meatless dishes!

Lastly, my oldest daughter has recently developed some new food allergies (she has had a tree nut allergy for years). The biggest challenge for me is her egg allergy. Baking gluten free is difficult enough, but without eggs it becomes quite interesting. Eggs really help bind the gluten free flours and greatly aid in the texture. You might notice that some of my recipes offer egg substitution suggestions and that is because we are actually substituting other things (like flax, tofu, egg substitute, etc) for the eggs in most things now.

We are trying to stay positive and focus on all the great things we still can eat and enjoy! Life is always interesting and always full of surprises.

Wishing you a happy and healthy New Year,

Flora

P.S.

If anyone has any great advice for baking egg free please comment. I need all the help I can get these days!

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Sophie says:

    A Happy, fun & inspiring & healthy 2011 filled with joy & good gluten free food!

  2. Karen says:

    I have really been enjoying your Blog and recipes and just wanted to tell you and say a big thanks. Now I am looking forward to seeing your menu planning as that is something I want to start doing too. I have been GF for over 7 years and have many health problems as well as being overweight. Please keep on sharing

  3. Karin Goodman says:

    I’ve tried menu planning more than once over the years. My husband does not like “microwaved” meat to thaw it, so I try to plan ahead. It usually works great for me, several times I find I’m not in the mood for what was on the menu, then I change things. I’d like to try to get my kids involved in helping with the menu planning so it’s not all up to me. Any tips and advice on the best ways to do this is great. Thanks for all your ideas and advice.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

