Quick Corn Chowder

3

December 1, 2010 by Flora Dawn

There is something particularly comforting about soup on a cold, dreary day. Maybe it’s the vegetables or the warmth, but a good soup is high on my list of comfort foods.

And it can’t be one of those thin, runny, mostly broth types of soup. I like a hearty soup, something that feels like a meal, not simply an appetizer.

My family enjoys this easy version of corn chowder. It’s nothing fancy, just a nice, quick, thick soup, loaded with vegetable. I must admit, I do own potato flakes, and I used them to thicken this soup. If you are really opposed to potatoes in a can (and I can’t exactly blame you) you could just add a couple cups of leftover baked potatoes or mashed potatoes. I am usually a from-scratch kind of cook, but with potato flakes and frozen corn, this is quick meal to get on the table on a busy weeknight.

Although this soup is good by itself, it’s one of those dishes that be garnished to suit your tastes.  My kids and I love this chowder with some cooked, cocktail shrimp; however my husband thinks bacon, cheddar cheese, and green onions are the best topping.

Quick Corn Chowder with bacon and cheddar cheese.

Another tasty option, shrimp and cheddar cheese.

Quick Corn Chowder

If you prefer a spicier soup, hot sauce or a bit of cayenne would be a great addition.

  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 1 TB butter
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 rib celery, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 cups frozen corn
  • 1 1/2 cups dry potato flakes
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cheddar cheese, green onions, shrimp or bacon for topping if desired
  1. In a large saucepan, heat butter and oil over medium heat. Add onions, pepper,celery, and carrots and cook until tender, about 8-10 minutes. Add garlic and heat until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  2. Stir in corn, potato flakes, paprika, and broth. Cover and reduce heat to low; simmer for 10 minutes. (If the soup is too thick when you add the potatoes, simply add the milk before simmering 10 minutes.)
  3. Stir in milk and half-and-half and heat thoroughly. Garnish as desired.
3 thoughts on “Quick Corn Chowder

  1. Evie R. says:

    I think I’ll have to try this. I’m sure Kenny would live it!

  2. Evie R. says:

    I did a “mom” here and had to substitute for the potato flakes and I added broccoli. It was very yummy! @Evie R.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

