Sweet Potato Biscuits

2

November 24, 2010 by Flora Dawn

 

I get the beautiful catalogs from King Arthur Flour. For people who love to bake, these catalogs are filled with the things dreams are made of. Not only do they have all the baking supplies you could possible think of, they also offer specialty flours and mixes.

Well, recently, they launched a gluten free product line. I must confess, this intrigued me. Is it possible that a well-known, respected company in the baking world would really come to the rescue of those living gluten free?

Coincidentally, in this month’s issue of Bon Appetit magazine I noticed a recipe for sweet potato biscuits. And guess what? It was gluten free. I was so thrilled, I almost let out a squeal in delight. The people at Bon Appetit are serious about food. I mean, really serious about food. So, if they put a recipe in the pages of their November issue under holiday foods, you can bet it’s worthy.

Okay, so I get all excited about this recipe, only one problem. They used King Arthur’s Gluten Free Flour Blend. Argh. I am not really a pre-made flour blend fanatic.

I was out grocery shopping, and as fate would have it, there before me on the store shelf was the boxes of King Arthur Gluten Free Flour, and it was on sale. Okay, so I should note, even on sale it still cost me $5.99 for a 24oz box. Not exactly cheap, but if it’s certified gluten free, it’s expensive. No bean flours, no weird odors. I was good to go.

I whipped up a batch of the Sweet Potato Biscuits and they were great! They taste more like sweet potato cornbread to me; perhaps because I used coarse cornmeal. Whatever you call them, they are really good.

So, a huge THANKYOU to Bon Appetit for creating a gluten free recipe worthy of the Thanksgiving table; and my hat’s off to the folks at King Arthur Flour, who realize the need for great tasting, gluten free baking products.

This is my version of the Bon Appetit recipe; I omitted pecans and changed up the preparation.  The original recipe is in the current issue and can be found online here.

The dough, in the bowl of the food processor.

The dough pressed into a square.

Sweet Potato Biscuits, all cooked and ready to eat!

Sweet Potato Biscuits

The flour is available directly from King Arthur and at select grocery stores (I can find it at Fred Meyer and Whole Foods locally).

  • 1 1 /4 pounds red-skinned sweet potatoes (that is approximately 2 small ones, or one really large)
  • 1 1 3/ cups King Arthur GlutenFree Multi-Purpose Flour
  • 2/3 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 TB baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick), unsalted butter, chilled and cut into cubes
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (the real stuff)
  1. Preheat oven to 425 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Pierce sweet potato with fork and cook in microwave until tender, about 5-6 minutes per side.  Halve potato, and scoop out 1 cup of flesh. Cool.
  3. In the bowl of a food processor, combine flour, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt. Add butter and pulse to f0rm a coarse meal. Add cooled sweet potato, buttermilk, and syrup and process to blend.
  4. On a piece of parchment or waxed paper, pat dough into an approximately 8-inch square (think about the size of cake/brownie pan). Cut into 16 biscuits (I used a bench scraper). Transfer to prepared baking sheet and bake until center tests clean, about -20 minutes.


2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Biscuits

  1. Sophie says:

    Hello Flora!!

    Your sweet potato biscuits rock!! I made them yesterday & I ate a delicious soup with them!! I will make them again soon!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,135 hits

Archives

Categories

