Making Brown Sugar

2

November 23, 2010 by Flora Dawn

One look at my blog post title today, and I am betting money my mom will be laughing hysterically. You see there is a bit of irony going on here.

My mom is like the queen of substitutions, improvisations, etc when it comes to cooking. For better or worse, she can’t follow a recipe to save her life. It should be noted that I either inherited this trait or picked it up along the way. Not sure which. However, as a child I quite regularly pointed out to my mom her kitchen mistakes. And adding molasses to plain ole white sugar to make brown sugar was not correct, mom. I mean, puleeze, if they had wanted that, they would have said that, right?

I wasn’t really taking into account that maybe my mom had reasons for occasionally making up her own brown sugar. Perhaps she ran out of grocery money or didn’t want to haul four kids to the grocery store just to bake cookies. I don’t really know my mom’s reasons, but I do know my mom was right. You can make your own brown sugar if you need to…and I know this because a very reputable cooking magazine said so (and I tried it and it works). And this got me wondering, what else was Mom right about? Hmmmm.

So, if you run out of brown sugar during your holiday baking, don’t fret; you can save yourself the extra trip the store, and make some up in no time!

Really mom?

Brown Sugar

  • for light brown sugar: 1 TB molasses for every 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • for dark brown sugar: 2 TB molasses for every 1 cup of granulated sugar
  1. In a small bowl, combine molasses and sugar. Using a fork, or hand held mixer, mix until very well blended. Use as you would brown sugar.

So

2 thoughts on “Making Brown Sugar

  1. Evie R. says:

    Mom’s laughing and Grandma Ina would be saying “Of course that works, we did it for years” 🙂 I think grandma is the one who showed mom how to do that for dad’s rock cookies.

  2. Karin Goodman says:

    Cute. I can just picture your mom laughing. I’ve never tried making my own brown sugar, but great idea!!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,137 hits

Archives

Categories

