Chocolate Espresso Doughnuts

6

November 18, 2010 by Flora Dawn

I live in the Pacific Northwest, and it is no secret that we love our coffee here. In fact, love may be a bit of an understatement. Those of us hailing from Seattle-Portland areas seem a bit coffee obsessed. You can hardly go any city or suburban block without passing at least one coffee shop. There are coffee shops in our grocery stores, our malls, and yes, our bookstores. And you know what goes perfect with coffee? Doughnuts, naturally.

I have my own personal theory on the  love of coffee, doughnuts, and bookstores we have in this part of the country. RAIN. It rains and rains and rains. In fact as I type, it is raining. So a nice hot cup of coffee, a good book, and a doughnut is really all we need.

Although baked doughnuts aren’t quite the same as the yeasted, fried variety, they are indeed still very good. They taste very similar to a cupcake. In fact, I think most recipes could be baked in muffin tins if desired. But the doughnut pans only cost about $10; you’ll most likely have to go to high end kitchen stores though, like William Sonoma or Sur la Table, unless you want to order them online.

This recipe is based on one from Silvana Nardone, but I changed up the flours and the glaze.  These baked, gluten free doughnuts also happen to be dairy free as well, which is a nice plus. Every time I have a large gathering, without fail, someone will ask if the desserts contain dairy.

And unlike so many gluten free baked goods, my family actually thinks these taste better the next day, or at least hours after they were baked; the chocolate glaze has a chance to really soak into the doughnuts, imparting a fudgy moistness into the doughnut. Really, really yummy.

The doughnuts themselves don’t really taste like coffee, the espresso is really just there to accentuate the chocolate flavor. With that being said, if you really love the flavor of coffee, you might consider increasing the amount of instant espresso to at least 2 tablespoons.

I decided to add espresso powder to the glaze as well, and I think that really kicked up the chocolate-espresso flavors. But you could forgot the espresso in the glaze and keep it strictly chocolate (maybe with a dash of almond or peppermint extract) if you don’t share our enthusiasm for all things coffee.

I know all kids are different, but my kids enjoyed these tremendously; and neither one is a regular coffee drinker. If you love chocolate and coffee I think you’ll agree, these doughnuts are quite a treat. And if they are a bit too sophisticated for the kids, it’ll just mean more for you.

Happy Gluten Free Baking!

Chocolate Espresso Doughnuts with holiday sprinkles!

Chocolate Espresso Doughnuts

This recipe makes 15 doughnuts

  • 1 1/2 TB instant espresso powder
  • 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 2 large eggs
  • 6 TB canola or vegetable oil
  • 1 TB vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup potato starch
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 6-doughnut baking pan with oil or non-stick cooking spray. (I only have one pan, so I wipe any crumbs out and respray between baking the batches).
  2. In a medium size, heat-proof bowl, mix together the espresso powder and boiling water; let cool to room temperature. Add eggs, oil and vanilla, whisk until well combined.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the rice flour, cornstarch, potato starch, xanthan gum, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugars. Add the egg mixture and stir until combined.
  4. Fill each doughnut space about half full (don’t fill more than 3/4 of they won’t look doughnut shaped). Bake for 16-18 minutes or until the center tests done. Allow to cool for at least 5 minutes before removing from pan; cool completely on wire rack.

Chocolate Espresso Glaze
Although I chose to add espresso powder for flavor, you could omit it altogether, or add a dash of your favorite flavoring (almond, peppermint, coconut, etc).

  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet, but milk or dark would also be great)
  • 3 TB butter, canola oil, or shortening
  • 1 TB corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp instant espresso powder, dissolved in 1 TB very hot water
  1. Combine all ingredients in a medium size, microwave-safe bowl. Heat in 30 second intervals, stirring as necessary, until melted and smooth.
  2. Dip one side of the doughnut into the glaze and top with sprinkles if desired. Although these can be eaten immediately, we found that they really do taste much better if the glaze gets firm.
For more great ideas visit my fellow gf bloggers over at SS& GF for Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays and  Vegetarian Mamma’s Gluten Free Fridays!

 

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Espresso Doughnuts

  1. I’m stopping over from Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays. These donuts look incredibly delicious!! I haven’t attempted baking GF donuts yet, but this would definitely be the recipe I’d want to try.

  2. Flora says:

    @Lauren @ As Good As Gluten
    If you like pumpkin, I have a pumpkin doughnut recipe too. http://www.floradawn.com/cooking/2010/10/07/pumpkin-doughnuts/ My kids especially like doughnuts, so it was something I had to figure out how to make gf!

  3. Gigi says:

    Hi. First time visitor, and I also found you via Slightly Indulgent Tues. :)These are lovely – such a nice photo, I feel like I could just pluck one right off the screen and gobble it up! I make a filled doughnut, but have not yet tried chocolate – my kiddos would love these! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your talents…
    Gigi

  4. Penny says:

    I found you from Slightly Indulgent Tues and made these last night – they are delicious and easy to make. The only thing I did differently was use Jules Gluten Free Flour instead of all the flours individually.

    Thanks for a great recipe.

  5. Abby says:

    I made these for my sister and myself for Sunday morning doughnuts, and they were amazing!!! I’m not a fan of doughnuts, but my sister loves anything to do with sweet, so I made them for her. But I was pleasantly surprised by how moist and non GF they tasted!!! I will defiantly make these again, and I recommend them to anybody looking for a great GF, easy alternative to your everyday cake doughnut! Please, Flora, keep posting!!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

