Another Graham-Like Cracker Recipe

7

November 11, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Thank a Vet today.

Yesterday I posted a great no bake cheesecake recipe. Well, it requires a graham cracker crust, which means I have had to figure out how to create a great tasting gluten free version.

I posted a recipe for a gluten free “graham” cracker a while ago. And while I do like the recipe, I recently discovered teff flour and it’s sweet graham-like flavor; not to mention the dark color it imparts on the baked goods.

So, here is another recipe for a gluten free graham cracker, that I think tastes very similar to the traditional, wheat-based ones. And just like the regular ones, small children seem to love these as well.

This recipe makes two cookie sheets worth of crackers. I have found that half of the recipe will yield enough crumbs to make two graham cracker crusts (directions here); which is perfect because that leaves another entire cookie sheet for snacking on!

Crumbs measured and ready for the freezer.

My version of gluten free graham crackers.

Graham-Like Crackers

Update: I tried using Earth Balance to make these dairy-free and they weren’t so good. Maybe oil or shortening would work better?

Teff flour can be a little difficult to find; I use Bob’s Red Mill brand. These are fairly sweet, so if you are concerned about your sugar intake, you might want to consider reducing the amount of sugar.

  • 1 cup white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup teff flour
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup butter (that’s 1 1/2 sticks)
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-2 TB water
  1. Preheat oven to 325. If you do not have silpat mats, cut two pieces of parchment paper to fit your cookie sheets.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine rice flour, teff, sorghum, cornstarch, xanthan gum, salt, baking powder, and cinnamon.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine butter, honey, brown sugar, and vanilla. Beat until well mixed. Add the dry ingredients and mix well. Add the water, 1 tablespoon at a time to form a soft dough that pulls away from the sides of the bowl.
  4. Divide the dough into 2 balls. Place each ball on your silpat or parchment and using a rolling pin, roll until it covers the surface (it should be about the thickness of sugar cookies or pie crust). Cut the dough with a plastic knife or spatula and prick with a fork if desired. (I just bake the cookies like this, but you could seperate the cookies further apart so they do not bake into each other, but you’ll need another baking sheet).
  5. Bake for 20-30 minutes, depending on desired crispness. Remove from oven and allow to cool. (The cookies should break apart easily where they were “scored” before baking).


Slightly Indulgent

7 thoughts on “Another Graham-Like Cracker Recipe

  1. Angela says:

    I will be making these today. My daughter loves GF graham crackers, but they are expensive.

  2. Eileen Beran says:

    These look just like graham flour graham crackers – very nice.

  3. Danielle says:

    These look delicious and I’m so glad they have teff flour, I think it’s way underused. I’ll have to make these for graham cracker crusts and s’mores.

  4. Courtenay says:

    I just made these this afternoon and I am in LOVE!!! I have tried a few other recipes for GF graham crackers, but these ones are an instant favorite! Love the teff! I added a TBSP of molasses and had to use hardly any water to get them to come together. I am so thankful to you for sharing this recipe! My family loves them!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,093 hits

Archives

Categories

