Thai Chicken Soup

Leave a comment

October 27, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Eating gluten free does have some limitations, but it certainly doesn’t have to boring. One of the upsides of a gluten free diet, at least at my house, is that we are much more adventurous when it comes to food. My husband, a notoriously picky eater, has had to become much more open minded about food and now enjoys many foods he would never had tried before going gluten free.

Last week I got the latest issue of Food Network Magazine and I saw a Thai Chicken Soup recipe.  A year or two ago I would never have attempted to serve this for dinner at my house, at least not without an alternate dish for my husband. With ingredients like fish sauce and curry paste, I would have heard many complaints I am sure. But these days, not so much. As we have eliminated some old favorites from our diet, we have gained many new ones; and they are typically healthier alternatives. So, although chicken noodle soup may never taste quite the same, we have discovered that other soups, like Thai Chicken Soup, taste even better.

And although the original recipe had no obviously gluten ingredients, I did make some minor changes. I used less curry paste, as I always cook with my kids in mind, and I opted for light coconut milk. I know it has less flavor, but it also has substantially less fat and calories. And really, this soup has plenty of flavor.

Speaking of flavor, I know there are probably lots of brands that have gluten free products; but when it comes to ingredients for Thai recipes, I almost always use Thai Kitchen products because they have so many gluten free items. They are very good about their allergen labeling, with products clearly marked, and I can find them at nearly every grocery store for a reasonable price. For this dish I used Thai Kitchen brand rice noodles, curry paste, fish sauce, and coconut milk.

This recipe might seem like it has a long list of ingredients, but it is an easy dish to put together and only takes about 30 minutes to make, making it a perfect weeknight dinner.

Thai Chicken Soup, a quick family dinner.

Thai Chicken Soup

  • 1 TB vegetable or canola oil
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 TB curry paste (I used red, but green will also work), plus more to taste
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth (I used water and better than bouillon)
  • 1 14-ounce can light coconut milk
  • 1 TB fish sauce, plus more to taste
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 4 ounces rice noodles, broken into pieces
  • about 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, very thinly sliced
  • 1 TB fresh lime juice, plus more to taste
  • 1 cup roughly chopped cilantro
  1. Heat the oil in a large pot over medium high heat. Add the onion and cook until soft and lightly brown, stirring frequently; this takes about 8 minutes. Add the garlic and curry paste and cook 1-2 minutes. Add broth, coconut milk and fish sauce; cover and bring to a boil.
  2. Add the peppers and noodles and simmer, uncovered, until the noodles are al dente, about 3-4 minutes. Add the chicken and simmer until cooked through; this takes about 3-5 minutes depending on how thin your chicken was sliced. Stir in lime juice and cilantro. Add additional curry paste, fish sauce and lime juice if desired before serving.
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,386 hits

Archives

Categories

