Maple Glazed Bacon

Leave a comment

October 24, 2010 by Flora Dawn

First, let me state that I realize bacon doesn’t really need improvement. I mean, most people really love bacon.  However, I was intrigued by a recipe I saw for a glazed bacon. I had never heard of such a thing, so of course I had to give it a try.

I am sure you could guess the result, glazed bacon is indeed very good, but a bit messy, as the glaze is rather sticky. If you prefer a prim and proper breakfast, this may not be the best recipe for you.

My family enjoyed this for breakfast and snacked on the cold leftovers the following day. However, I really think that this would be great in a BLT sandwich or salad.

The glaze adds lots of flavor so I it would be a great choice for turkey bacon, which my family thinks is a little on the boring side when merely pan fried.

Maple Glazed Bacon

Maple Glazed Bacon

  • 1 pound bacon
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup (the real stuff)
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 TB brown sugar (light or dark)
  1. Preheat oven to 325.
  2. Fry the bacon in a large pan, or bake in the oven, until bacon is cooked. Drain on paper towels.
  3. In a small saucepan, mix together remaining ingredients and cook over low heat, stirring often, until mixture thickens. This takes about 10 minutes.
  4. Using tongs dip bacon into the glaze (you could brush the glaze on the bacon if desired, but I found this too slow and messy), covering both sides of bacon with the glaze. Place bacon on a lined baking sheet and bake in preheated oven until hot and bubbly, about 10 minutes.
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,982 hits

Archives

Categories

