Happy Birthday Mom!

1

October 23, 2010 by Flora Dawn

A beautiful day my mom spent at the beach with my family.

My mom’s birthday is this weekend, so I thought I would write up a special post for her. I had a bit of trouble deciding what to write about, after all, people say a LOT of things about my mom.  I decided since this is a food blog I would focus on food and kitchen related matters.

For better or worse, we owe a lot of who we are to our childhood experiences, and more specifically, to our parents. I know when I think about my habits, traditions, and overall feelings about food and cooking, I am often associating my present day activities with something from childhood.

10 Things About Food & Cooking I learned From My Mom:

  1. There are always dirty dishes and they won’t wash themselves.
  2. Money may not grow on trees, but food sure does. Plant a garden and some fruit trees, be generous with the surplus, and in return others will be generous to you.
  3. Eat dinner at the table like a civilized family. Not everyone is fortunate enough to have a family or food, let alone both at the same time.
  4. Although when mom says something she means it, when a cookbook author says something…like say in the form of a recipe…they are merely making suggestions. Improvise, improvise, improvise. It’s your house, your food, and your decision.
  5. Make your kids do chores: wash the dishes, set the table, cook the meals. Even if they act like it’s killing them, it really isn’t and it will most likely “build character.”
  6. Food tastes better if you share it. You don’t need to read special books, or watch special programming, to entertain successfully. People love to be invited over for a simple meal, dessert, or even just coffee. Hanging out and eating food is fun. It doesn’t have to be complicated, expensive or stressful.
  7. You should always eat your vegetables, they are good for you. They taste even better if you involve a heavy dose of cream, butter, or cheese.
  8. Don’t throw food out. As mentioned above, not everyone has enough food, so you should be ashamed of yourself not figuring out how to eat those leftovers before they go bad.
  9. The kitchen will clean…later. Let the kids cook, bake, and generally make a mess of the place like they owned it. After all, when they are grown up it is far more likely they’ll remember the time they made sugar cookies with their friends, rather then the fact you had a sparkling floor that day.
  10. I am not perfect and neither is my food. I never remember my mom worrying about how to plate her roast, or throwing out a pie that might have not set up correctly. No way, you just smile and serve it in a bowl. It’s just food, folks, so don’t take it so seriously.

Thanks for all the fun and inspirational food and family wisdom you have imparted through the years, Mom. I hope you have a Happy Birthday…I’ll bring the food 🙂

One thought on “Happy Birthday Mom!

  1. Evie says:

    Oh how I smiled when reading this!!! We love you mom and none of your daughters would be the cooks we are today with out you 😛

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,135 hits

Archives

Categories

