Triple Chocolate Brownie Cookies

5

October 22, 2010 by Flora Dawn

My youngest sister loves to bake, so when she recommends a recipe, I am pretty sure it’ll be a hit.  Recently she emailed me a recipe for what she termed “the best chocolate cookies I have  ever made.” Although she had my complete attention at “best chocolate” there was one problem, this was a Southern Living recipe, full of gluten. She figured I might be able to adapt it for my family.

With three kinds of chocolate, I was a bit skeptical of attempting to create a gluten free version. I mean, who wants to waste chocolate if things go awry?

Well, guess what folks? I was successful. And let me tell you, these are the best chocolate cookies I have ever made. They are part brownie, part cookie, entirely delicious. I love brownies and I love cookies, so it’s a win-win dessert in my book.

My kids loved them, but I must admit, my husband said they were a bit too chocolaty for him. Oh bother. Too chocolaty? Isn’t that like saying too many pairs of shoes or something? Ridiculous.

These really are wonderful cookies, even warm right out of the oven. My oldest daughter called them “comfort cookies.” One bite and I am sure you’ll agree.

The original recipe was called Double-Chocolate Brownie Cookies, but I really don’t understand why, as there are three kinds of chocolate; so I renamed them accordingly.

If you need a chocolate fix, fire up your oven, grab a glass of milk and enjoy.

Triple Chocolate Brownie Cookies, pretty and delicious.

Tripe Chocolate Brownie Cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 4 oz unsweetened baking chocolate squares
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup sweet rice flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cups walnuts, chopped (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silpat mats.
  2. In a heavy saucepan, combine butter, unsweetened chocolate, and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Cook over medium-low heat until melted and smooth; stirring often. Set aside to cool; about 20 minutes.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, combine eggs and sugar; mix well. Add vanilla, baking powder and salt; mix until combined. Gradually stir in rice flours, cornstarch and xantham gum until blended. Pour in melted chocolate and mix well. Add milk chocolate chips, and walnuts if using, and stir to incorporate into batter.
  4. Drop by heaping tablespoons onto baking sheets and bake for 10 minutes, do not over bake. The cookies may look gooey in center. Allow to cool 2-3 minutes on baking sheet before removing to wire racks to cool completely.
5 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Brownie Cookies

  1. Lynn says:

    She sent me the same recipe, and I was going to try and adapt it. I guess, now I don’t have to figure it out. 🙂 These look really good!

  2. Sophie says:

    MMMMMMMMMM,..these cookies look to die for,…really!

  3. Evie says:

    From the little sister who passed on the recipe:

    The “double-chocolate” was my mistake in naming the cookie adaption. The original recipe called for all semi-sweet chips, but I didn’t like them that way. I changed it to part semi and part milk chocolate. Anyway, they are delicious no matter what kind of chips you put in. My personal favorite, peanut butter chips!!! So that does make them double chocolate peanut butter 😛

  4. Ilene says:

    these just plain look great, almost can taste the favors and
    smell them from the oven. Will try to make them. thanks for
    another great cookie………..

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,137 hits

Archives

Categories

