Pumpkin Pancakes

3

October 15, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Gluten free breakfasts can get a a bit boring, so I am always trying to come up with new things to make. Being that it is Fall, I took a favorite pumpkin pancake recipe and adapted it to be gluten free.

They turned out great. They are slightly sweet with a nice pumpkin flavor. Although I do enjoy pumpkin, I think for breakfast it is best to keep the flavor and color subtle. It also helps, so you don’t scare the family first thing in the morning. I know my kids would be skeptical or eating orange pancakes or anything resembling the squash family for breakfast.

I am particularly fond of gluten free pumpkin baked goods. I really find that the pumpkin adds a lot of flavor and moisture that is often missing. Although I decided to use white rice flour, I think using a superfine brown rice flour would be a healthier option. In recipes like this, I have discovered that substituting one flour for another, or one starch for another, tends to work very well.

I listed the pumpkin as “pumpkin puree” in the list of ingredients. I actually used pumpkin puree I made from scratch, using a pie pumpkin. However, I realize not everyone has the time nor desire to take on such a task, and will just use the canned pumpkin. You’ll want the stuff labeled 100% pumpkin, not the pie filling.

A stack of Pumpkin Pancakes with maple syrup.

Pumpkin Pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 2 TB canola or vegetable oil
  • 2 TB vinegar (white or apple cider)
  • 1 1/2 cups white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 3 TB brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  1. In a medium bowl, mix together milk, pumpkin, egg, oil and vinegar.
  2. In a large bowl mix together remaining ingredients. Pour the pumpkin mixture into the dry ingredients and stir to combine. Allow to rest 5 minutes before cooking pancakes.
  3. Heat a lightly oiled pan or nonstick pan over medium heat. Using 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake, pour batter into hot pan and brown on both sides.
3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pancakes

  1. Lynn says:

    I made gluten free pancakes a couple of weeks ago and my family loved them. They are a perfect fall breakfast. My version is a little different than yours, but I agree pumpkin works well with gluten free.

  2. Ilene says:

    HI there, Flora, I never even thought of trying pumpkin in hot cakes,
    but think there would be great, thanks for the idea.
    I may try them this week, for breakfast. I love pumpkin. I had a
    great creamy pumpkin soup for Thanksgiving one year. I don’t have the
    recipe but think I can get it. Truly a great soup for this time of year.

  3. Sophie says:

    Your thick gf pumpkin pancakes look so delectable!

    MMMMMMMMMMMM,..a lovely picture too!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,472 hits

Archives

Categories

