Jam Thumbprint Cookies

4

September 26, 2010 by Flora Dawn

I love baking cookies. Well, I really love eating cookies and the homemade variety are far superior, so I find myself baking cookies quite often.

Perhaps it’s because of childhood memories, but I find Jam Thumbprint Cookies quite addictive. The buttery, melt in your mouth cookie, paired with raspberry jam is a perfect combination.

It’s a fairly simple concept, make a basic butter cookie dough, roll them into balls and make an indention in the center of each with your finger or thumb (hence the name, brilliant I know). Then you fill the well you created with your favorite jam. So simple, yet so good.

I am posting a recipe I found specifically for Thumbprint Cookies, however I really think your favorite sugar or butter cookie dough could be used. And if you have children that love these, you might want to experiment with your favorite peanut butter cookie, what kid wouldn’t love a PB & J cookie in their lunchbox? Or maybe a chocolate cookie with some caramel in the center? Yummy.

Happy Gluten Free Baking and Enjoy!

Jam Thumbprint Cookies

Jam Thumbprints

I know a lot of people consider these a holiday cookie, but I think they are perfect year round.

  • 2 1/4 cups white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup sweet rice flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3 TB milk
  • about 1/2 cup of jam
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar. Add egg and mix until blended, about 30 seconds. Scrap down the sides of the bowl if necessary and add dry ingredients, mix until combined.
  4. Add milk and mix. The dough might look slightly crumbly, but that is okay.
  5. Roll into balls, about 1 tablespoon each. Place the balls on the prepared baking sheets and using your thumb (or a small melon baller) make an indention in the center of each.
  6. Typically recipes will instruct you to fill the wells with jam at this point and then bake in the oven. However I find that the cookies look prettier if you bake them before adding the jam, especially if using a dark jam.
  7. Bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Allow to cool on sheet for several minutes before removing to a wire rack (I fill with jam at this point). Allow to cool.
4 thoughts on “Jam Thumbprint Cookies

  1. Karin Goodman says:

    Do you have a good GF peanutbutter cookie receipe? These sound really good and would like to try PBJ option.

  2. Flora says:

    My favorite gluten free peanut butter cookie is a super easy flourless version I posted a while ago here http://www.floradawn.com/cooking/2010/01/24/flourless-peanut-butter-cookies/

    I have not tried it as a thumbprint yet, but I think it would work as long as you make them small.

  3. Linda says:

    I have made these cookies twice, and I just love them!!! Thank you for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,982 hits

Archives

Categories

