Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake

1

September 22, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Growing up I always envisioned a coffee cake to be a dry, crumbly cake, full of nuts and in desperate need of a beverage to wash it down. Thankfully, I have had some very good coffee cakes since, and I set out to turn a pretty standard recipe into a gluten free version.

I am happy to report that the results were fabulous. It is very moist and has a nice cinnamon swirl running through the center. This actually looks quite pretty when sliced and no need to stress out about if this step is done perfectly, I had my three year old, who is always eager to “help” me in the kitchen, make the cinnamon/sugar mixture and sprinkle it entirely by herself. I find allowing children to do these small steps gets them involved in baking process without too much risk for failure.

And although it would be wonderful along side a cup of coffee, a glass of milk would be equally as good. I chose not to glaze it because I felt it was plenty sweet already.

I think you could feel proud serving this to company or to any of your gluten eating friends and family.

The only hard to find ingredient may be the sweet rice flour. I know this isn’t readily available in all areas, but I really think it works wonders in gluten free cakes. I use Bob’s Red Mill brand and I know you can order it through them directly if needed. If you are going to be doing a lot of gluten free baking it is definitely worth purchasing. It truly has alleviated the dry, crumbly texture in my gluten free cakes.

This might be a humble looking cake, but it tastes great!

Gluten Free Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake

We are nut free, but 1/2 cup of chopped nuts would be a great addition to the cake batter.

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup plain yogurt or sour cream
  • 1 3/4 cups white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup sweet rice flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, optional
  • 2 TB cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 10 inch bundt pan.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar with the butter. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Add vanilla and sour cream and mix until blended. Add flours, baking soda, baking powder, xanthan gum, and salt and mix well. Stir in nuts if using.
  3. In a small bowl, mix  the brown sugar with the cinnamon.
  4. Pour approximately half of the batter into the prepared pan. Sprinkle half of the cinnamon/sugar mixture over cake batter. Cover with remaining cake batter and then sprinkle with remaining cinnamon/sugar. (You could use the entire cinnamon/sugar mixture for the swirl, but I like the sweet, crunchy exterior it creates when added on top as well)
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 45-55 minutes or until tester inserted into center comes out clean.
  6. Allow to cool 5 minutes before turning out onto wire rack to cool.
One thought on “Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake

  1. Deb C says:

    Hard to find streusal recipe from good scratch ingred.
    I’m one that never follows a whole recipe cause I always have a little
    twist that I know I like in something ….so. I used :
    l. mild olive oil
    2. no xanthum gum because it can have side effects
    3. used all brown rice flour
    4. l/2 c tapioca flour instead of corn starch
    5, egg white liquid
    6. 2 TBS ground oatmeal w/ 3/4 c dk br sugar and l C nuts ground
    7. poured batter into 3 sections and some ontop (into 8×11 glass dish.

    yummy. thank you for a great beginning.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

