Pie Crust Cookies

8

July 22, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Pie Crust with butter, cinnamon, and sugar!!!

I struggled with what to call these. Growing up my mom used to take the scraps from the pastry dough and roll it thin, place it on a cookie sheet and top it with softened butter and cinnamon & sugar. She would then bake it for about 10 minutes.

It was so a nice treat and a way to enjoy a little piece of dessert long before the pie would be ready. If you have kids, it is a fun thing to do with any leftover pieces of pie dough that you would otherwise just throw out.

Do you make something similar with pasty dough? And if so what do you call it?

8 thoughts on “Pie Crust Cookies

  1. Ilene says:

    Flora, these are great for kids, grand kids, even my sons-laws
    love these when I have baked them, my mother in-law taught me how
    to bake them, when I first married her son. I am pretty sure my
    grandmother made them also, she never wasted any thing.
    I have also used brown sugar for something just a little different.

  2. Lynn says:

    My kids love it when I do this.

  3. Angela says:

    My mom use to make these and then she would make fruit salsa to go with them… super yum and a great memory.

  4. Evie R. says:

    K gave these a really weird look the first time mom made them. But it didn’t take him long to realize how good they were 🙂

  5. Karin Goodman says:

    My mom made these and we would put whatever flavor jam on them we had in the fridge at the time. We never had a name for them.

  6. Flora says:

    @Karin Goodman
    Jam is a good idea. I’ll have to try that.

  7. Nancy says:

    My mother-in-law calls them snails. My kids and husband love it when I have left over pie crust and make them.

  8. Nancy says:

    sorry, sent quote in before the pic finished loading…we roll them up and slice them, making them look like snails

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,135 hits

Archives

Categories

