Potato Flour Substitute

2

June 16, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Sometimes I feel like I have an alternative flour store happening inside my kitchen. If you bake gluten free you probably know what I mean.

Well, this morning I wanted to make a recipe calling for potato flour, only apparently I didn’t have any left.

Potato flour is actually ground from whole, dried potatoes. It adds moisture to your baked goods and extends their shelf life.

I decided to do some investigating to see if there was anything I could substitute for the potato flour.

I managed to find a comment on the King Arthur’s Flour from one of their staff members stating that 1 cup of potato flakes = 1/2 cup potato flour.

I only needed a couple tablespoons of flours and I wanted to make sure that the flakes became fine for my particular purposes, so I ground the instant flakes in my mini food processor.

It appeared to me that the instant flakes were reduced by half after grinding them. This allowed me to substitute the “flour” I had just created at a 1:1 ratio for the potato flour called for in the recipe. And it turned out fabulous!

Whether or not you choose to grind the instant potato flakes into a fine powder is really just a personal preference. I thought it would dissolve better in my case, but it is probably not required.

So if it is difficult to find potato flour in your area or you find yourself needing a substitute, I wouldn’t hesitate to use instant potato flakes.

1 cup of potato flakes = 1/2 cup potato flour

*if you grind them in your coffee grinder or mini food processor you should be able to use it 1:1

2 thoughts on “Potato Flour Substitute

  1. Lynn says:

    This is a great tip to know. Thanks!

  2. natasha says:

    Flora, Terrific tip. Thank you. Cannot find potato flour in Australia where they equate potato starch and potato flour. Big mistake. Your input is very much appreciated. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,948 hits

Archives

Categories

