Making Your Own Mixes

Leave a comment

June 15, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Even though I do enjoy baking, I am like any ordinary mom with hectic, busy days and sometimes I need to get a meal or a dessert ready in a hurry. So, in the 9+ months we’ve been gluten free I have tried my fair share of mixes….and it hasn’t been pretty.

First of all I must ask, who are the kitchen staff, taste-tester, recipe contributors etc that actually tastes these products and states “hey, this is so good we should package it and sell it?”

Seriously, someone tasted this stuff and thought it was delicious. I think not. Overall, gluten free mixes are disgusting, bland, and just plain weird.

Truthfully, I think people in business suits sit in a board room and say, “how can we make a killing in the gluten free market.” And proceed to simply put together anything edible that might sound appealing to consumers.

So, like all other picky gluten free bakers I must find a solution to this dilemma. Thankfully for me I picked up Gluten Free Baking Classics and read how the author suggest you make up your own mixes with the dry ingredients. BRILLIANT!!!!!

I have been trying to list my recipes with the dry ingredients separate from the wet ingredients so making up mixes will be easier; however, you can also do this to many of your favorite recipes.

I find it easiest to store the dry ingredients in a resealable plastic bag with the recipe name and date marked on it.

A couple things to keep in mind. Yeast should always be added with the wet ingredients. And recipes that require creaming butter/shortening with the sugar are typically not suited to breaking down into mixes, for this reason, I choose not to make cookie mixes.

Here are some of my favorite recipes to make mixes out of: Hamburger Buns, Banana Muffins, Banana Bread, Pizza Crust, Sandwich Bread, Cornbread, Pancakes, Chocolate Cake, Pumpkin Cake, and Hummingbird Cake.

I think spending a little bit of time in advance really helps my gluten free kitchen run smoother during my busy weeks. I hope making up mixes at home saves you time and money too! Happy gluten free baking.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,948 hits

Archives

Categories

