Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

4

June 14, 2010 by Flora Dawn

The week we initially went gluten free we had a family birthday. I kid you not.

If you have ever attempted to bake a gluten free cake I am sure you can relate to the disappointment that would ensue.

I went to the store and looked at the gluten free cake mixes. WOW! Over priced and quite scary.

I decided upon one that promised a a great tasting, rich chocolate cake. And cost me upwards of $6, far more than I had ever spent on a cake mix.

It looked like cake, smelled like cake, even had the texture of cake. It DID NOT taste like any chocolate cake I have ever had.

We threw it out and I felt defeated. If I couldn’t even a get a mix from a reputable brand to taste edible, how was I ever going to bake?

And although it seems silly to be so upset about cake, every birthday and nearly every celebration traditionally involves cake.

Fast forward nearly 10 months and guess what? I can make cake. There are several great gluten free recipes out there that are easy to adapt to suit your needs and family’s taste.

Here is one of our favorites, chocolate cake. It is based on an Elizabeth Barbone recipe. It isn’t one of those super rich, truffle-like chocolate cakes, it more resembles a cake from a good box mix. A regular box mix that is, not your typical gluten free variety ๐Ÿ™‚ย  It has nice texture, chocolate flavor, and is relatively sweet.

This is a really easy, one-bowl cake. No special techniques or alternating wet and dry ingredients. Truly one of the simplest, from scratch cakes I have ever made. And seriously, who doesn’t love a chocolate cake or cupcake?

I separated the dry and wet ingredients in case you want to combine the dry ingredients so you can prepare your own “mixes.” I find this to be a great time-saver.

So whip up some chocolate buttercream, grab some cold milk and enjoy!

A slice of Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Buttercream...Yummy

Easy Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

Try to use the finest white rice flour you can find. I prefer Authentic Foods Superfine, but the rice flour from the Asian markets will also work.

dry ingredients:

  • 1 cup white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup sweet rice flour
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum

wet ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs, at room temp
  • 1 cup milk, at room temp
  • 1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup very hot water
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease and generously sprinkle cocoa powder on two 8 or 9-inch baking pans or one 9×13 pan or 24 cup muffin pan (probably easier to just use liners for the cupcakes).
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine dry ingredients and blend on low.
  3. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla and beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.
  4. Turn mixer to low speed and add hot water. Mix for 1 minute.
  5. Pour batter evenly into prepared pans. Bake 30-35 minutes for 8-9 inch pans, 45 minutes for a 9×13, and 18-20 minutes for cupcakes. A tester inserted into the middle should test clean.
  6. Remove pans from oven and let cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. Turn out onto a cooling rack and allow to cool completely before frosting.
4 thoughts on “Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

  1. amber says:

    Hi! ๐Ÿ™‚ Is there anything I can use as a substitute for Sweet Rice Flour, do you know? I am unable to find any, anywhere in the town that I live in.
    Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Flora says:

      There really isn’t a great substitute for sweet rice flour; if you have a grocery store with an Asian food aisle you might be able to find some there in a box. Since there is only a small amount in this recipe, I would suggest substituting white rice flour. I would imagine it will still taste fine.

  2. Krissy says:

    I just have to say that I use your recipe a few times a month and have for about two years (from an old blog earlier). It is the very best gluten free chocolate cake and cupcake recipe I’ve ever used. I make it for groups all the time and they never know it’s gluten free. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Don’t ever take it down!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

