One Bowl Pancakes

Leave a comment

June 5, 2010 by Flora Dawn

If you have kids you probably make pancakes. They are usually quick, easy and relatively inexpensive. And children just love them.

However, the gluten free pancake is somewhat of a challenge. If you have too much rice flour it ends up gritty, many of the alternative flours lend an off taste, and if you simply try to replace a gluten free flour blend the pancakes seem to take forever to cook thoroughly.

However, after a lot of recipes and a lot of not-so-good pancakes, I have found a couple that I use regularly now.

I like slightly sweet pancakes, ones reminiscent of what you would get at a diner. They need to be fluffy and soft with a nice golden color. And the batter needs to cook in a reasonable time and I need to see bubbles; I like to know when to turn them over. Without the bubbles it is a guessing game.

The recipe I am posting today is a great, easy recipe that can be mixed up all in one bowl, which I love. And it meets all my criteria.

I divided the wet and dry ingredients in case you wanted prepare the dry ingredients ahead of time and store in a resealable container or bag. I am not much of a morning person, so I find this is helpful for me.

I like to add cinnamon and vanilla to gluten free pancakes and waffles. I think it adds a nice, subtle flavor.

If you want to make blueberry pancakes, simply add a few tablespoons of blueberries to each pancake before flipping it over; you can add it to the batter, but I find it turns the batter blue.

And although maple syrup is the go-to topping, I think fresh, in-season fruit is such a healthier alternative.

Pancakes With Fresh Strawberries

One Bowl Gluten Free Pancakes

If you like your pancakes less sweet, simply reduce the sugar to 1 tablespoon.

I have noticed that I sometimes need to add a little more milk to make the batter the right consistency, this is especially true when I use a nondairy milk.

dry ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup white rice flour
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup sweet rice flour
  • 2 Tb sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • dash cinnamon, optional

wet ingredients:

  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup milk or more if needed (I have used unsweetened soy milk too)
  • 2 Tb canola or vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla, optional
  1. In a medium bowl, stir together all dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and stir to blend thoroughly; adding a tablespoon or two of additional milk if needed.
  2. Allow batter to rest 2-3 minutes before using; I use this time to heat the griddle or pan.
  3. Heat a nonstick griddle or pan over medium heat (if you don’t have a nonstick surface be sure to oil the pan). A drop of water dropped on the surface should sizzle when the pan is hot enough.
  4. Pour about 1/4 cup of the batter for each pancake onto the griddle. Flip pancakes when the surface is covered in bubbles. Cook another 1-2 minutes or until golden brown.
  5. Serve with fruit or syrup.
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,982 hits

Archives

Categories

