Quick Pasta Sauce

Leave a comment

June 2, 2010 by Flora Dawn

If you have read my blog a few times you already know I like to make most things from scratch, so it’s probably no surprise that I make my own pasta sauces.

Overall, I think making your own food from scratch is healthier; who needs all that high fructose corn syrup and salt anyway?

I have several different tomato sauces I like to make, but this one is my basic, go-to recipe for a quick dinner.

It is pretty simple, you could always add fresh herbs, mushrooms or browned ground beef or sausage to make it a bit more special.

It’s not quite as easy as opening a jar of pasta sauce, but it really does come together quickly and I think it tastes so much better.

One thing I have noticed over the years is that different brands of tomato products really taste differently. Some are very sweet and others are salty or metallic. It’s probably best to find a brand you really like and just stock up when it is on sale.

Personally, I buy mine at Costco. The large cans give you over 6lbs of tomatoes, sauce or paste for around $3; I store it in small freezer containers and just defrost as needed.

Quick pasta sauce with ground beef

Quick Pasta Sauce

  • 1 Tb olive oil
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1 small bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp each, basil, parsley, oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. In a skillet over medium heat, add oil and cook onion and pepper until soft, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  2. Add tomatoes, herbs and salt and pepper to taste. Simmer, allowing flavors to blend, about 10 minutes.
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,093 hits

Archives

Categories

