Banana Muffins

16

May 29, 2010 by Flora Dawn

To say we like banana muffins at our house would be an understatement.

I don’t really know what it is about them exactly that we love.ย  I guess they make the perfect breakfast or snack on the go. And they are so tasty, not to mention how they make the house smell so yummy while they cook. And it’s the perfect way to use up those not so fabulous bananas you have on the counter or freezer (here is my post about freezing bananas).

I have already posted a banana cupcake recipe, but it has sour cream in it so I wanted to figure out a way to make them easier to adapt to be dairy free as well. The only dairy here is butter, so it’s super simple to substitute with a dairy free margarine or shortening.

And although I really prefer Authentic Foods Superfine rice flours, I have made these with Bob’s Red Mill rice flour and they were still really good.

I have read, as you probably have as well, that it is necessary to cook gluten free baked goods in light colored metal pans. They all warn DO NOT use the old, dark colored pans.

But as you can see, I didn’t toss out all my well-loved pans. In fact, I have one 6-space new, light colored pan and one that is so dark it is almost black. I can not swear they perform exactly the same for everything, but I can assure you that I made a pan of each for this recipe and the muffins took the exact amount of time to bake and they all looked identical.

Needless to say, I am not a big believer that the color of your metal pans matters much. I sure wouldn’t spend a fortune replacing them.

Sometimes I wonder about all these expert cookbook authors. Where do they find these people?

Yummy Banana Muffins

Banana Muffins

Yes, this is the same recipe I use for banana bread. I discovered it is the perfect amount of batter for 12 muffins. Although we are nut free, I think 1/4 cup chopped walnuts would be a great addition….or maybe some chocolate chips. And these can be mixed by hand with a wooden spoon if desired.

wet ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/3 cups very ripe mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla

dry ingredients:

  • 1 2/3 cups white rice flour
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease or place paper liners in a 12 space muffin pan (or 2 6-space ones if you are like me).
  2. In a small bowl, mix together sugar and mashed bananas; allow to sit for 15 minutes.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at time, mixing well after each addition. Add half of the dry ingredients and blend until smooth. Add banana-sugar mixture and stir until well mixed. Add remaining dry ingredients and mix until smooth.
  5. Divide batter evenly among muffin pan and bake for 20-25 minutes or until tester inserted in the middle of a muffin tests clean.
16 thoughts on “Banana Muffins

  1. Lynda Nolan says:

    Hi there floradawn! I made these YUMMMMMY Banana Muffins of yours, my first GF Banana Muffins and they turned out so well. I LOVE Banana Muffins and cake and found these are so good they will be IN my recipe book to be cooked again and again. One thing I did different is I used Guar Gum instead as I didn’t have the Xanthan and they still turned out good. Thanks for your awesome recipes . . more will be cooked in due course. By the way, my Hubby doesn’t like Banana Muffins or cakes so I will have to eat them all by myself – such a dilemma ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Flora says:

      I am so happy you enjoyed the muffin recipe! It’s my favorite way to use up overripe bananas. Thanks for letting me know guar gum works in these too!

  2. Linda says:

    Thank you for the wonderful recipe!! I love your site and many of your recipes… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Rachel says:

    This recipe was just right. I replaced the white rice flour with Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all purpose baking flour and it worked fine. I also added walnuts and chocolate chips. They rose up perfectly and you wouldn’t even know they were gluten free. Moist and delicious! I made half large muffins and half mini muffins and just took the mini ones out after about 13 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe.

    • Flora says:

      It’s great to know the Bob’s all purpose gf flour worked in these. I need to start using some healthier flours, so maybe I’ll give it a try next time I make muffins.

  4. carly says:

    i made these this rainy afternoon with brown rice flour, and added some ground flax — they turned out so delish! it was great to have g-f muffins that rose so well and even gave a muffin top! we were so excited. thanks so much for the recipe. will add you to google reader now ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Lisa says:

    I just made these muffins, and didn’t make any changes. They turned out great! Glad to know all-purpose gf flour works too, I may try that next time.

  6. Kristi says:

    These are great muffins and I’ve made them as is and with several variations.
    Cutting down to 1/2 cup sugar and then a pinch of stevia (to taste) brings the carbs down quite a bit. They’re still plenty sweet for me.
    I’ve even replaced the cornstarch with a heaping tbsp of coconut flour, and replaced the xanthan gum with a tablespoon or two of flax (you mix the flax into the mashed banana/sugar and it gels up while sitting). If you use coconut flour then mix in up to 1/2 cup of milk or something so that they’re not dry.

    • Flora says:

      It’s great to hear the enjoy the recipes and have made successful variations! I might have to try your coconut flour change and add in some diced pineapple for a tropical muffin.

  7. Kristi says:

    Oh, and if anyone else cares to know, I had calculated out the nutrition info using the sparkpeople.com recipe calculator.
    12 servings. Nutrition info per serving:
    266 calories
    9.6g fat
    56mg cholesterol
    257mg sodium
    134mg potassium
    44g carbohydrates
    1.3g fiber
    20g sugars
    3g protein

  8. Adam K says:

    Just wanted to thank you for this excellent recipe! I’ve tried adding in butterscotch chips, and it was a big hit.

  9. connie munroe kraus says:

    i used this recipe for banana bread and put it in once loaf pan. it took about an hour to cook and is still a bit gummy, but good. do you think i should have used 2 smaller loaf pans?

    • Flora Dawn says:

      I think, in general, gluten-free muffins have a better texture than the loaf breads. As you found, they tend to be gummy and take forever to bake when baked in a loaf pan. Baking this recipe in muffin tins or smaller loaf pans would probably fix the gummy texture.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

