Bread Sticks From a Chebe Mix

Leave a comment

May 28, 2010 by Flora Dawn

If you have read my blog much you know I am not a fan of mixes. I know they are convenient, but they are typically overpriced and unimpressive.

However, one mix I do buy is Chebe Pizza. I must admit I have never even tried to make pizza out of this. What we like to do is make up the dough and make bread sticks.

Chebe actually makes a mix specifically for breads ticks, but we have found that the spices in their pizza mix make it a better choice.

If you aren’t familiar with Chebe let me tell you a few things. First they are a gluten free, yeast free, peanut and tree nut free company; and five of their mixes, including the pizza one, is lactose/casein free as well. Crazy huh?

So what is in these mixes you ask? Tapioca and some spices. You add some oil, eggs, and milk or milk substitute. With no yeast it doesn’t have to rise, so you have bread baking in no time.

Chebe products are based on Brazilian “pao de queijo” (Brazilian cheese bread). I posted a recipe for Brazilian Cheese Buns a while ago and it’s true, there is no yeast and no wheat, yet they puff up and are very flavorful. My kids just love these Brazilian treats whether I use a Chebe mix or make them from scratch.

Chebe mixes aren’t hard for me to find locally, they seem to be with other gluten free products in well-stocked grocery stores. They come in small bags and cost around $3-4 a package.

I find these mixes great to keep on hand, with a pasta dish or a salad and you have a quick meal in no time. They are also great for traveling since they are in small bags and require few ingredients; making them the perfect gluten free item to take and bake if your kids are going to a friend or relatives house.

Chebe dough all mixed

Baked Bread Sticks

Easy Chebe Bread Sticks

The texture of this dough is gritty (the final product is not). The first time I made it I thought I had dumped a bunch of eggshell in it, but I really hadn’t.

  • I bag Chebe Pizza Mix
  • 2 Tb oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 Tb milk or substitute
  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. In a large bowl mix blend Chebe mix, oil and eggs with a fork. Add milk while continuing to blend, add more liquid, 1 tsp at a time, if needed to form a dough.
  3. Use hands to blend ingredients. Roll into bread sticks ( I make about 12) and place on a cookie sheet.
  4. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until puffed and lightly browned.
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

