Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Leave a comment

May 25, 2010 by Flora Dawn

I love pot roast. I guess it reminds me of Sunday dinners as a kid. My mom ALWAYS made pot roast. We would always complain she overcooked it. But seriously, I really love a tender, falling apart pot roast, it’s pure comfort food.

I am not a fan of casseroles. Not really sure why. Pot roasts are sort of my answer to the one dish meal dilemma. Sure, life gets busy and I need something I can just throw in the slow cooker or oven, but I want it to taste really good.

Honestly, I prefer cooking roasts in the oven. However, there are those days when a slow cooker is really a life saver.

Unfortunately for me, if you have looked at many slow cooker pot roast recipes you’ll realize that almost all of them contain cream of mushroom soup (not a fan) or onion soup mix (also not a fan and really confused on the gluten issue here).

So, I was really happy to see a slow-cooker country style roast in my America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook. I adapted this recipe to suit my needs, I didn’t’ really want to cook a 6 pound roast as they suggest and, well, I can’t follow a recipe. So this is my interpretation of their version.

I was really happy with the results and no canned soups or soup mixes in sight. I know slow cookers vary, but it really does take a LONG time to cook, so be prepared to start this early in the day if you want to eat this for dinner.

Although I think chuck roasts are really excellent slow cooked, you can use a different roast if you like. I often use a different cut if there is a sale..sshhhh don’t tell America’s Test Kitchen, they insist only a chuck roast will do 🙂

Slow Cooker Pot Roast with red potatoes.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Although you could place this directly in the slow cooker without browning it, I think it really improves the texture of the meat.

  • 1 (3 pound) boneless beef chuck roast
  • 2 tsp oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 pound baby carrots (or peeled, chopped carrots)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine
  • 1 (14 oz) can crushed or diced tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 6 large red potatoes, halved
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Heat oil in skillet over medium high heat. Add roast and season with salt and pepper. Brown roast on all sides, be sure to let roast brown well before trying to turn or roast will tear. Reduce heat if oil begins to smoke. Brown on all sides, this process will take 8-10 minutes total. Add roast to slow cooker.
  2. Add onions, carrot, and garlic to pan and cook until softened, about 5 minutes (add 1 tsp to oil if necessary to prevent vegetables from sticking). Add wine and scrape up any browned bits. Simmer until wine has reduced by half, about 1 minute, then pour into slow cooker.
  3. Add tomatoes, broth, thyme, bay leaf and potatoes to slow cooker. Cover and cook until meat is tender and, 9-10 hours on low or 6-7 hours on high.
  4. Transfer the roast and potatoes to a cutting board. Discard the bay leaf and using an immersion blender (or let cool slightly and transfer to a food processor), blend liquid in slow cooker until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Slice roast, serve with potatoes and sauce.
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,902 hits

Archives

Categories

