Easy Pizza Sauce

2

May 16, 2010 by Flora Dawn

A good pizza sauce really adds that extra touch to a pizza. So if you are going to the trouble of making pizza at home, why not make the sauce too?

I have made many different versions of pizza sauce, however my family prefers the uncomplicated recipes.

Homemade pizza is somewhat of an undertaking, so spending a lot of time on the sauce in unrealistic in my opinion. I need something that is quick to put together and tastes great.

So, after a lot of experimenting I finally found a truly easy pizza sauce with no cooking required. You just combine all the ingredients and stir; it can’t get much easier than that.

I find this recipe makes enough sauce for 2-3 pizzas, but it will depend on how much sauce you like on your pizza. Since I typically bake only one pizza at a time I freeze the leftover sauce to use another time.

This is pretty basic sauce that you could adjust to your family’s taste. It’s also great with bread sticks.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and stir. Voila, pizza sauce!

A partially baked crust topped with Easy Pizza Sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce

I don’t add pepper flakes, but that would be a great addition. If you don’t want to add fresh garlic you could always substitute 1-2 tsp of dried garlic or garlic powder.

  • 1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  1. In a medium bowl combine all ingredients and stir until smooth.
2 thoughts on “Easy Pizza Sauce

  1. Kristin says:

    Perfect timing! My first GF pizza dinner is planned for tomorrow night. I figured I better attempt it on a Friday night in case I need 2 glasses of wine. I was looking for a homemade pizza sauce and just found it. Thanks.

    • Flora says:

      I hope that your pizza turns out great! If you like a crispy crust, I have found that cooking it directly on the oven rack the last couple minutes of baking really helps.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,386 hits

Archives

Categories

