Cilantro Rice

1

May 11, 2010 by Flora Dawn

We eat a lot of rice. It seems like it is one of the easiest and cheapest things to cook since going gluten free.

I have a favorite Spanish rice recipe, but I was looking for another way to cook rice that would compliment Mexican food.

I was flipping through my latest Everyday Foods issue when I saw Green Rice. I took the idea and created my own version of “green rice,” however, I prefer to call mine cilantro rice. It is mildly green and has excellent flavor.

Although we eat this with Mexican food, I think it would also be great with grilled chicken.

Cilantro rice

Cilantro Rice

  • 1 cup loosely packed cilantro leaves
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 3/4 cups water
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 1 Tb fresh lime juice
  1. In a blender or food processor, combine cilantro, onion, garlic, water and season with salt and pepper. Blend until smooth, about 15 seconds.
  2. In a medium saucepan, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add 1 cup rice and stir to coat. Add herb mixture and and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover with a lid and simmer for 15 minutes or until all water is absorbed.
  3. Remove pan from heat and and let sit, covered for 5 minutes. Add lime juice and fluff with a fork.
One thought on “Cilantro Rice

  1. Evie R. says:

    This is a great recipe. It also reminds me a little of Chipolte’s rice.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,437 hits

Archives

Categories

