Gluten Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake

5

May 7, 2010 by Flora Dawn

 

Why am I posting about pumpkin cake in May you ask yourself?

Well, here’s the story. I have been making a pumpkin bundt cake for years and it is my teenage daughter’s absolute favorite cake. We typically make it in the fall, but we had just started eating gluten free so I had no idea how to attempt to convert this recipe so we skipped it last year.

It’s been almost 9 months and I have built  up some confidence in my gluten free baking abilities, so I decided to pull out the recipe and attempt adapting it to be gluten free.

The original recipe came from and old Taste of Home magazine and required a cake mix and a package of pudding. It crossed my mind to try and use a gluten free cake mix, but honestly, why spend $6 on a cake mix that you have to add a bunch of ingredients to? It seems much more cost effective to figure out how to recreate this cake from scratch.

I did keep the instant pudding in the dessert, because I think it really adds to the flavor and the butterscotch compliments the pumpkin without being obvious. Personally, I dislike butterscotch, but in this cake you don’t taste it, you just end up with the most delicous, moist, dense, mildly pumpkin cake.

And just to let you know, Kraft, the makers of Jello Pudding are really good about labeling allergen information; so unless it says, wheat, rye, barley, it doesn’t have it. You can read their official statement here.

After making my changes, the final result is a wonderful pumpkin cake that is just as moist and flavorful as the original; the texture is a bit more dense, but not crumbly or dry like many gluten free cakes. Overall, it is a fairly simple and inexpensive gluten free dessert. Who says you can only eat pumpkin in the fall anyway?

Although I have always made this cake in a bundt pan, which I think is a busy mom’s dream cake, with no frosting, filling or decorating required, you could bake it in a 9×13 or two 8-inch pans. You could even make cupcakes. Just make sure to reduce the cooking time accordingly.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake

Make sure and use instant butterscotch pudding here, other flavors don’t really work (I have tried) and the slow-cook variety will prevent the cake from getting done.

dry ingredients:

  • 1 cup + 2 Tb white rice flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • I package (3.4 ounces- the small box) instant butterscotch pudding mix

wet ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

for topping:

  • whipped cream or confectioners’ sugar, optional
  1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease and rice flour a 10-inch fluted tube pan (bundt pan)*
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine all wet and dry ingredients and beat on low for about 30 seconds. Increase speed to medium and continue to mix for 2 minutes.
  3. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 45-55 minutes or until a tester inserted in the center tests clean.
  4. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. I had to run a plastic spatula around the edges to loosen the cake from the pan before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  5. Serve with whipped cream or dust with confectioners’ sugar if desired.
  6. Store leftovers in an airtight container or bag; this cake freezes really well.

*I used white rice flour and it left a white coating on my cake; but we sprinkled confectioners’ sugar on it so I didn’t mind; you might want to use brown rice flour, but I was worried that would be gritty. I have only used cornstarch, white rice flour, or baking cocoa to dust my pans. If anyone has a suggestion that might work here let me know.

5 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake

  1. Lynn says:

    My kids are going to be so happy that you made this cake gluten free. It was one of our favorites, I will have to try this.

  2. Ann says:

    Oh, this looks wonderful! Hey, have you tried the Authentic Foods brand of brown rice flour? No grit. I make cake with it, no problemo.

  3. Flora says:

    @Ann
    Yes, I LOVE Authentic Foods superfine flours. I agree they are the best and even wrote a post about it. However, few stores carry this brand, so I often run out and have to use regular rice flours.

  4. Alyssa says:

    Just made this. Delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,947 hits

Archives

Categories

