Gluten Free Sandwich Bread

14

May 6, 2010 by Flora Dawn

I was a pretty avid bread baker. I ground my own wheat and started my own sourdough with grapes. And I always shunned the whole bread machine notion, I didn’t really want shortcuts. And for a birthday present, my husband even bought me a special hearthstone, allowing my artisan loaves to get a nice brown and crispy crust. I made bread with the purpose of making excellent bread.

So, here we are. Gluten free. Bread is less than exciting. Bread is an annoyance and a frustration.

Unfortunately, an American childhood staple is sandwiches.

You might have noticed I have no sandwich bread recipes listed. It’s not because I haven’t tried any. I have baked plenty. It’s just that none of them were really good. Sure most of them were edible….the first day. But the overwhelming majority had the fate of crumbs.

I have tried expensive mixes and all sorts of recipes and I finally found one I think is worthy or making again and again.

It smelled, tasted, and looked like regular homemade bread. It was the best gluten free bread I have made to date.

And unlike most of the gluten free loaves I have made, this sliced nicely and tasted great the next day. We did make paninis, but only because we missed them, not because the bread needed toasted.

Don’t be intimidated by the long list of ingredients, it takes a lot of things to replace regular wheat flour. This bread is really quite easy even for beginning bread bakers, and it is a lot less expensive than those gluten free mixes available at the stores. If you can operate a stand mixer you should be able to make this.

In fact, gluten free bread making does have some advantages over traditional methods.

  • Only one rise is required, so the whole process is much quicker.
  • You don’t have to knead the dough; you really just mix for about 5 minutes.
  • No dough hook required.

I read about using sweet dairy whey to improve gluten free yeast breads and wow, what a difference it makes. Whey is a by product of cheese making and it is high in protein and sugar and adding it to yeast breads really improves the texture.

If you have a gluten free bread recipe you want to add dairy whey to, you will want to reduce the sugar some as it definitely add sweetness to your baked goods.

I can get it in my baking aisle of the grocery store next to the powdered milks. You may have to go to a nutrition department, a health food store, or order it; I have only used Bob Red Mill’s brand. It is around $4 for a 1.5 pound bag and worth every dime.

This bread slices nicely and tastes as good as it looks!

I realize it's not symmetrical, but the texture and crumb look great!

Finally, we can make sandwiches with leftover roast beef again!

Gluten Free Sandwich Bread

I am not a huge fan of “white bread,” I would much rather have something whole grain so I used mostly superfine brown rice flour, however you could just use all regular white rice flour if desired.

I think an instant read thermometer is really essential for good bread baking. And I have found that the traditional temperature of 205 is not really adequate for gluten free breads, they need to reach around 210 to ensure there are no gooey, undercooked spots.

dry ingredients:

  • 2 cups superfine brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup white rice flour
  • 1/3 cup potato starch
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1/3 cup instant nonfat dry milk
  • 1/3 cup sweet dairy whey
  • 2 TB dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 1/2  tsp xanthan gum

wet ingredients:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 cups warm water
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted and slightly cooled
  • 2 1/4 tsp (1 packet) active dry yeast
  1. Grease a 9×5 loaf pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together all dry ingredients.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, using the paddle attachment, combine all wet ingredients and mix about 15 seconds or until yeast is dissolved. Add dry ingredients and increase mixer speed to medium-high and mix for about 5 minutes.
  4. Place dough in prepared pan and allow to rise in a draft free location for one hour.
  5. About 15 minutes before bread is done rising, preheat oven to 350.
  6. Bake bread for about one hour or until the internal temperature reads 208-211 with an instant read thermometer. The bread can be covered with foil while baking if it begins to over brown.
  7. Remove bread from oven and turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely before slicing. Store in an airtight bag or container or freeze.
14 thoughts on “Gluten Free Sandwich Bread

  1. Deborah says:

    I am so excited to try this recipe.
    What do you think about using real whey from yogurt? You know, the watery stuff that sits on the top of yogurt? I wonder if I could replace some of the liquid with real whey and leave out the powdered whey? What do you think?

  2. Flora says:

    I have never even thought of this option, but I think it would actually work. The only thing I think might be a problem is that sweet dairy whey adds a lot of sweetness to the baked goods, and I would guess yogurt whey wouldn’t be too sweet, but I have never cooked with it, so I am not sure.

    If you try it, please let me know how it turns out. I am curious to know.

  3. Lisa says:

    Looks great, but I’m seriously lactose intolerant and even the smallest amount of milk or whey will do a horrible number on my stomach. It’s very common with celiacs, so what’s the solution for delicious GF bread without lactose? It’s actually very frustrating to cook and bake without gluten OR lactose. Products available in the store almost always will contain one or the other! I can’t be only one with this problem. I’m still searching for that magic bread…

    • Flora says:

      It does seem like most gluten-free baked goods have dairy. We can have dairy, so I haven’t experimented too much with non-dairy bread, sorry. I think there are a couple things you could try though.

      For recipes that simply call for liquid milk, substituting your favorite non-dairy milk should work (almond, rice, soy). I have read numerous times on Celiac forums, people replace dry milk products with almond meal or dairy-free products from http://www.vancesfoods.com/darifree.htm. Hope that helps some.

      I also believe several of the bread mixes are dairy-free, like this one from King Arthur Flour.

  4. deidre says:

    I just collected a bunch of whey from making yogurt. I found this recipe and it looks divine! Any idea on a sub for the dry milk powder? Thanks a bunch!

    • Flora says:

      I have never used yogurt whey in this recipe, but I would replace the 1 3/4 cups water called for with a combination of dairy whey and milk (so that they total liquid in the recipe remains 1 3/4 cups). I know sweet dairy whey is really sweet and yogurt whey is not, so you might want to increase the sugar. Let me know how it turns out.

  5. Linda says:

    I made this bread this morning using whey from homemade yogurt and the bread was delicious and light. I didn’t use powdered milk but instead used 1 cup of regular milk which meant I needed only 3/4 cup of water. I used 1/3 cup of yogurt whey counting it as part of the 3/4 cup of water. In addition I doubled the amount of brown sugar using 1/4 cup. This is definitely a keeper recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

  6. Flora says:

    @Linda
    Linda, Thank you for letting us know about your changes and that it worked with yogurt whey! I think that is great; I love adapting recipes, so I am always glad to hear how people successfully modified my posts.

  7. Yoni says:

    @Flora
    I agree. Use the almond milk or something similar. Although not lactose intolerant and I am a genetic tested Celiac, almond milk has less calories and also less glucose – a lot of Celiacs go on to become Type II diabetes so it is a good habit to get into liking non-sweet things.

  8. fran says:

    HI I am new to baking Gluten free because of Celiac. Some recipes I see call for sweet dairy whey I cannot seem to find one that says Gluten Free. Which brand do you use. Every time I see one it is produced with other allergens like wheat. I saw that On bobs red mill too any ideas. Thank you for your time.

    • Flora says:

      Hi Fran,
      You bring up a great point! I wasn’t very infomred when we first started eating gluten-free and I used to buy Bob’s Red Mill brand, but you are correct about the cross contamination issue. I am actually rethinking using Bob’s stuff at all because they allow so much gluten (up to 19ppm) in their GF products and my husband’s physicians are concerned he is still being affected by unintentional gluten exposure.

      To answer your question, you can replace sweet dairy whey with an instant milk or buttermilk powder (the taste will be slightly different, but it has the same general effect on the baked good). I am now dairy-free, and I have been using Vance’s DairyFree dry milk alternative, and it works too; so I wouldn’t stress too much about it substituting an easier to find instant milk (I am guessing there are some gf brands out there).

      Here is another great bread recipe, no weird dry milk needed http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/gluten-free-sandwich-bread-recipe They give directions for making up your own blend on the right side of the page and that is the recipe I follow to keep the cost down (the KAF gf blend is great, but spendy).

      Gluten-free bread is really difficult and everyone has a different “perfect” bread, so don’t give up too soon. It will probably take a few recipes and some tweeking to find what you like.

  9. fran says:

    Thank you so much for your response. Especially with Bob’s Gluten Free. I have picked up some of his stuff. Maybe I will try another brand. I thank you for your time, it helps a lot!!!

  10. Peggy (from Florida) says:

    Hi Flora,,,,,,Like you I have been a avid baker all my life and now that I have to be gluten free I’m going crazy trying to bake a decent loaf of bread.
    I was interested in your recipe because of the Whey in it.
    I have liquid whey left over from making Ricotta Cheese. Can I sub some of it in place of the milk. ?? what or how much would you suggest?
    Thanks for reading this
    Peggy

    • admin says:

      Peggy, I have never tried using liquid whey, but I think it would work if you substituted it for some of the liquid in the recipe. I would start out with 1/3-1/2 cup.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

