Great Gifts For Mom for $20 or less

Leave a comment

May 3, 2010 by Flora Dawn

With Mother’s Day just around the corner, I thought I would make a list of some of my favorite gift suggestions for moms that love cooking.

However, if the mom in your life hates spending time in the kitchen, I would steer clear of all things cooking related and stick to things you know she’ll love 🙂

I tried to keep the items practical and around the $20 price point. Most of these items can be picked up at any local kitchen or housewares store, but a few are specialty items.

Cast Iron Tortilla Press

I love making tortillas at home; they are so easy and quick to make, not to mention so much cheaper and healthier than the store bought variety. I would really recommend a metal or cast iron one, I had a thick plastic one break. Finer kitchen stores or Mexican markets should carry these.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B00164T384[/amazon-product]

Instant Read Thermometer

Every home cook really needs an instant read thermometer. If mom doesn’t have one, do her a huge favor and buy her one. Make sure the end is pointed though, allowing her to pierce meats. These are available for under $20 at kitchen store and places like Target and Bed, Bath and Beyond.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B00009WE45[/amazon-product]

Immersion Blender

I put off buying an immersion blender for years, but I finally purchased one after having hot soup go all over my kitchen in a blender incident. They can get pretty expensive, but I have a sub $20 one and it works fine. They are great for hot soups or vegetables you want pureed and cleanup is a snap. Also great for making smoothies.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B00023XDJ0[/amazon-product]

Food Steamer

A food steamer is a great gift for a new or expecting mom that wants to make baby food at home. I know steaming foods isn’t that difficult, but this makes it that much easier; paired with a food processor or immersion blender, making baby food will not be such a chore.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B000E226GA[/amazon-product]

Silpat Mat
Seriously, if Mom doesn’t own one of these, get her one. These make baking so much easier. Make sure you buy her a size that will fit her baking sheets though.[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B0001RT42C[/amazon-product]
Rimmed Baking Sheet

I find these the most practical pans in my kitchen. They are used for everything from roasted veggies to cookies. Try to stay clear of the really dark pans, as they will over-brown baked goods. These are available everywhere kitchen stuff is sold.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B001GKY5FE[/amazon-product]

Silicone Rolling Pin

Ok, so I don’t have one of these, but if you have ever tried to roll out a gluten free crust or cookie dough you’ll know what this would be a really useful tool. If mom bakes a lot gluten free, this would help her.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B0007GDOHS[/amazon-product]

Cast Iron Pans or Griddle

I love my cast iron. I really recommend you get the pre-seasoned variety, it will save  some work. For tortilla making I love my 10-inch griddle, but my skillet gets a lot of use; it is hard to go wrong with cast iron, whatever you choose, I am sure it will years of use. (One note though, cast iron is heavy, so they aren’t the best pans for everyone)

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B00006JSUB[/amazon-product]

Magnetic Knife Rack

I got a magnetic knife rack from Ikea a few years ago, and I love it. If you have an Ikea nearby, it is hard to beat their price.  I really wanted to get my knives out of my drawer because I had an active toddler who liked to get into things and this does the job.

I like the simple design and it is so practical for the busy cook. I have a pretty tile backsplash, so we used heavy duty double-sided tape to hold mine in place; no drilling required.

There are lots of sizes available, just make sure to get a length that will work in her kitchen.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B0006IVY7E[/amazon-product]
Kitchen Scale

I love my inexpensive digital scale, it is so easy to weigh out exact measurements for recipes,  but if your mom has a retro kitchen this Paula Deen one at Walmart is too cute.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B001M5NPP4[/amazon-product]

Message Cookie Cutters

These cutters from William Sonoma allow you to create custom messages on your cookies. Any mom who loves to bake would find these unique cutters great!


Whoopie Pie Pan

I love my Whoopie Pie pan; very similar to a muffin-top pan, but it has 12 spaces (some have 20), which I think makes it more practical. You can make so many things in this: mini quiche, oven pancakes, hamburger buns, coookies, and of course whoopie pies.

They are available at finer kitchen stores such as William Sonoma, Sur la Table and Crate and Barrel. Prices seem to range from $12-20.


Spring-Loaded Cookie Scoops

These are so nice for making uniform sized cookies, meatballs, drop biscuits etc. Any cook could use a few of these in different sizes; they should be available everywhere housewares are sold.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B0001598EI[/amazon-product]

Baguette or French Bread Pan

Great for the mom that bakes her own bread, these pans allow us to get that classic French bread or Italian baguette shape at home.

If you do buy a pan with perforation, it will be necessary to line it with parchment of foil for really wet doughs, such as gluten free.

[amazon-product alink=”0000FF” bordercolor=”000000″ height=”240″]B00004R91I[/amazon-product]

Ceramic Baking Pans

These are a great size for casseroles and cobblers and with handles! I think any mom would love one of these beautiful dishes. And with this sale at Sur la Table, the price is hard to beat.

I hope you enjoyed my list and that you got a few ideas for Mom (or maybe yourself). Happy cooking and Happy Mother’s Day.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,982 hits

Archives

Categories

