Gluten Free Meatballs

1

April 15, 2010 by Flora Dawn

There is something about meatballs kids just love. Perhaps its the fact they roll around on their plates while they try to stab them or that they are usually served with spaghetti, which is nearly every child’s favorite dinner.

Whatever the reason, being able to create a delicious gluten free meatball is a necessity for any meat eating family. I made a few modification to my favorite meat ball recipe and we can once again enjoy meatballs. My kids were so delighted.

You do need gluten free bread crumbs. I typically pull out a roll or two when I make a batch, or the heals of the bread when I make loaf, just to throw in my food processor for crumbs. I place them in a resealable plastic bag and toss them in the freezer until needed. I find this is the easiest way to assure I always have breadcrumbs on hand.

Although fresh bread crumbs typically need toasted in the oven for a few minutes, I find that gluten free bread produces pretty dry breadcrumbs, so this step isn’t usually required.

I always cook meatballs in the oven now. You don’t need to stir them or risk breaking them apart. There is nothing worse than telling your family you are having meatballs for dinner, and end up serving crumbled browned beef. It will still taste okay, but it isn’t pretty, trust me I know from experience.

We like the outside of our meatballs cooked really well, very browned and slightly crunchy. So I always cook mine on convection for the full suggested cooking time. If you prefer a softer meatball that is less browned,  you will want to watch the cooking time closely and probably avoid using convection all together.

Meatballs aren't very photogenic.

Gluten Free Meatballs

  • 1/2 cup gluten free breadcrumbs
  • 1 pound ground beef (I use 10% or leaner)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp seasoning salt (I use McCormick)
  • pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  1. Preheat oven to 400 or convection 375.
  2. Place all ingredients in a large bowl, and with a wooden spoon stir until combined.
  3. Roll into balls; I make mine 1-2 tablespoons sized, yielding 20 meatballs.
  4. Place on rimmed baking sheet and bake 10–15 minutes or until no longer pink in the center.
One thought on “Gluten Free Meatballs

  1. Lynn says:

    Bread crumbs are a good way to use up gluten free bread that doesn’t always turn out just right. 🙂 and I am sure all those of us that cook gf have had at least a few of those.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

