Polenta

4

March 27, 2010 by Flora Dawn

One of the positive things about eating gluten free is that you become open-minded to eating and cooking new foods. It really forces you to think about the traditional foods of other cultures and figuring out to incorporate them into your diet. Rice, quinoa, and corn are now staples in my family’s diet, replacing the wheat products we relied so heavily on. Not only has this been a healthy change, but it has really been fun and delicious.

Although I love Italian food, it wasn’t until recently that I actually ate polenta. It is so delicious, I can’t believe what I have been missing all these years.

Polenta, also known as corn grits, needs to be cooked on the stove top and constantly stirred. This can be ate like a porridge for breakfast or served as you would pasta.

Having never made it before, I bought the precooked, organic polenta that comes in the tubes. This seemed less intimidating for a beginner. It was very simple to prepare, I chose to slice it and bake it in the oven, but you could also pan fry it for a few minutes per side.

My family loved it and it is sure to be a staple in our house. Only next time I’ll be making Bob’s Polenta from scratch. It seems very versatile, and a nice change from gluten free pasta. Does anyone have a favorite way to serve polenta?

Oven Baked Polenta With Red Peppers & Parmesan

We’ve made this twice, the last time I let my kids completely assemble it. So the measurements were far from exact, but it still tasted great.

  • 2 Tb olive oil or melted butter
  • 1 roll precooked polenta, sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 4-6 Tb grated Parmesan cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Pour the oil or butter into the bottom of  a rimmed baking sheet or baking dish. Arrange polenta slices in it, overlapping slightly if necessary. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Scatter the bell pepper and oregano evenly over polenta. Top with the Cheese.
  4. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until bubbling and starting to brown.
  5. Top with you favorite pasta sauce.
4 thoughts on “Polenta

  1. Lynn says:

    You should try my oven grits or my crockpot grits, both are really easy and good. I use Bob’s Red Mill for both and we love them. Just don’t serve them to mom and dad.. 🙂

  2. Flora says:

    I’ll have to try those, they sound good. Thanks for the suggestions.

  3. April says:

    My favorite are polenta fries! Slice chilled polenta into thick french fry shape, roll in cornmeal and quickly fry until brown. Yum!!

  4. Flora says:

    Polenta fries sound good! I bet my kids would love them. Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,891 hits

Archives

Categories

