Hash Brown Quiche

4

March 25, 2010 by Flora Dawn

 

 

Hash Brown Quiche Directions

This recipe can be modified to fit your tastes. I have used bacon, various cheeses, more peppers, no onions, etc. You could certainly add ingredients, mushrooms or olives come to mind. It always seems to taste great.

  1. Preheat oven to 425
  2. Press hash browns between paper towels to remove excess moisture. Press into bottom and up sides of an ungreased pie plate. Drizzle with butter (or bacon dripping if using).  Bake at 425 for 25 minutes.
  3. Combine the meat, cheese, bell pepper, and onion; spoon over crust.
  4. In a small bowl, beat eggs, milk, salt and pepper until combined. Pour over cheese mixture, trying to cover evenly.
  5. Reduce heat to 350 and bake for 25-30 minutes of until knife inserted in center comes out clean.
  6. Let stand for about 10 minutes before cutting.

I don’t make a lot of quiches. Whenever I mention the word quiche my husbands says “real men don’t eat quiche.” I am not exactly sure why (I realize it is a title of a tongue-in-cheek book about masculinity) but I just try to avoid this predictable conversation.

Nonetheless I enjoy quiches and I think they are great for a weekend breakfast of brunch. What could be better than some eggs, cheese, and meat all on a wonderful pastry crust? Sounds like a perfect dish to me.

Making gluten free quiches sounds like a lot of work. Few people really enjoy making pie crust, throw in alternative flours and it becomes a big chore. One fabulous solution: a hash brown crust. This makes the dish heartier and eliminates the need to fuss with a pie crust.

This is a version I adapted from an old Taste of Home recipe, but I am sure many gluten free Hash Brown Quiche recipes exist. And if you have a grumpy husband that doesn’t eat quiche, just do what I do and call it a Hash Brown Breakfast Pie 🙂

 

Gluten-Free Wednesdays

4 thoughts on “Hash Brown Quiche

  1. Linda says:

    We love quiches, and I live with a husband and three teenage boys! I was thinking recently about making a potato crust quiche. I’ve done it before by shredding potatoes myself, but hash browns would be easier. My favorite, easiest way to make quiche though is without any crust. Welcome to the world of gluten-free cooking and blogging.

  2. Flora says:

    I haven’t tried a quiche without a crust yet, but I have thought about it. Thanks for visiting, I have read your blog many times and find it very helpful.

  3. Ilene says:

    Hi, Flora, what is there not to like about this dish.???
    Potatoes, eggs, cheese, maybe ham, or a few other meats.
    This could be easily be a quick dinner, brunch, or like you said,
    “great breakfast on Sat, Or Sunday.” I am sure that my family
    will enjoy this dish, thanks for the great tips.

  4. […] Baked Egg Breakfast Pizzas – Tessa the Domestic Diva Beet Pickled Eggs – The Tasty Alternative Hash Brown Quiche – In Flora’s Kitchen Egg Substitutes – Sensitive and […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,948 hits

Archives

Categories

