Homemade Gluten Free Playdough

8

March 12, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Gluten Free Kool-aid Playdough Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix flour, salt, cream of tarter, Kool-aid, and oil until combined.
  2. Add boiling water and stir until blended. Allow to cool; knead to blend color if necessary.
  3. Store in airtight bag or container in the refrigerator.

 

Play dough is a favorite past time for many young children, however it is also full of wheat. Since gluten-free versions are quite overpriced and difficult to find in stores, I decided to make a version that was not only safe for my daughter to play with, but extremely inexpensive as well.

I found  the Kool-aid recipe I used to make years ago for my oldest daughter. It makes a playdough with a really nice scent, color and texture, and it doesn’t dry out quickly.

Although I wouldn’t encourage it and I doubt it tastes good, it’s made up of entirely edible ingredients, making it safe for small children. My daughter seems past the eating playdough phase, but I hate to buy or make the regular wheat-based stuff, since we have worked so hard to get wheat out of our lives.

I used my old recipe, but changed the flour to rice flour and it worked. I am thinking next time I will use the really fine rice flour from the Asian store to get an even smoother texture. Even if you are not gluten free, you can follow the directions below, using all-purpose flour. It really makes wonderful playdough either way.

Making your own playdough is quick, easy, and inexpensive. Most kids enjoy watching or helping you make it, so it’s a good rainy day activity. And what kid doesn’t love play dough?

It has a similar enough texture that it works with the Play-Doh brand toys as well; my daughter loves this monkey toy.

8 thoughts on “Homemade Gluten Free Playdough

  1. Lynn says:

    I used to make the kool aid playdough for my kids when they were younger. I love the fact that you have adapted this to be gluten free.

  2. […] so I easily converted it to be gluten-free by simply replacing the wheat flour with rice flour. This recipe contains Kool-Aid which creates a dough with a vibrant color and pleasing scent. Another simple […]

  3. mcdonald says:

    Kool aid contains gluten

  4. Kristin McLean says:

    I made this recipe, and it came out terrible. It was watery and not at all like playdoh.

    • Flora says:

      I am sorry you weren’t happy with the playdough. I’ve made it for years and never had a problem with it being watery; I do think it can feel greasy though, but it needs oil so it doesn’t just stick to hands. Perhaps you could add some more flour to get a consistency you are happy with.

  5. Heidi Wegner says:

    Flora,
    Does it have to be in the fridge when not played with? My daughters school always asks for playdoh to be made and I’m GF. So I made them GF playdoh but thought that bringing in some of this would ‘rock’ the boat of fun…but if it has to be in the fridge it probably won’t do well for them.

    • admin says:

      I think as long as you store it in an airtight bag or container it should be okay at room temperature, it probably will dry out sooner though.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,437 hits

Archives

Categories

