Sauteed Zucchini & Corn

1

March 9, 2010 by Flora Dawn

When I was growing up we ate vegetables at every dinner. However, I must say these vegetable side dishes typically consisted of butter, cream, or cheese, not really the healthiest way to eat your veggies. Over the years, I have given my mom a hard time about this, telling her how my kids just eat their veggies steamed, grilled, or roasted and this is so much healthier than how she fed us.

Well, Mom, tonight I served vegetables your style. I started with butter, added some onions, zucchini and corn, threw in some heavy cream and seasoned it. Let’s just say I remember now why Mom served veggies the way she did; it is because they are so good.

Zucchini and corn compliment each other well in this dish, but I am sure you could substitute other diced vegetables. I am not suggesting we always eat our vegetables this way, but once in a while it is a nice change. It’s quick, it’s tasty, and chances are your family will eat their vegetables with few complaints.

For more great gluten-free Zucchini recipes check out Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

Sauteed Zucchini & Corn

  • 2 Tb butter
  • 1 bunch or green onions chopped, white and light green parts only
  • 1 medium zucchini, trimmed and cut into 1/4 inch dice (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 1/2 cups corn (I used frozen, but I am sure fresh corn, kernels removed  would be better)
  • 2 Tb heavy cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Melt butter in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat until foamy. Add vegetables and cook, stirring frequently, until tender, about 4 minutes.
  2. Stir in cream and season with salt and pepper.
  3. Serve warm or at room temperature.
One thought on “Sauteed Zucchini & Corn

  1. Linda says:

    This looks really good, Flora. Thanks for sharing it at Gluten Free Wednesdays.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,386 hits

Archives

Categories

