Gluten Free Apple Muffins With Crumb Topping

10

February 27, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Muffins are so practical. They are great for a quick breakfast, snack or even dessert. I have tried more than a few gluten free muffin recipes, but the end products have had an off-texture and usually do not rise above the paper liner. However, I have successfully adapted many of our old favorites, producing gluten free versions that are very similar to the originals. If you have a reliable gluten-filled favorite muffin or cupcake recipe, you can probably just make a few minor changes and be enjoying muffins again in no time.

The first thing you need is a good gluten free flour blend, I have a favorite, but use whatever one you like. I try to stay away from the bean based flour blends in general, I find they leave my baked goods tasting like beans. Also, it helps to use a fruit or vegetable based muffin, this adds moisture; think apple, carrot, pumpkin, etc. And lastly, adding yogurt or sour cream helps the texture tremendously; if you don’t eat dairy, try adding some applesauce. I like to add flax meal to make them more nutritious, but this is completely optional.

Here is one of my family’s favorite muffin recipe. I think the kids are particularly fond of this muffin due to the sweet, slightly crunchy topping. For variety, I occasionally add raisins to the batter (we have a tree nut allergy in our house, so we can’t do walnuts, but I think they would be delicious in these).

Gluten Free Apple Muffins

  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • dash salt
  • 2 cups gluten free flour blend
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 Tb flax meal, optional
  • 1/2 cup plain or vanilla yogurt (you could also use sour cream)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 2 cups diced apples
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and/or raisins, optional

Crumb Topping (tasty, but optional)

  • 1/4 cup sugar (brown or white will work)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 Tb gluten free flour blend
  • 2 Tb butter, cubed
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line muffin tin with paper liners or coat with cooking spray.
  2. In large bowl, beat together butter, sugar, vanilla and salt. Add eggs, one at a time.
  3. In separate bowl, combine dry ingredients. Stir in dry ingredients alternately with yogurt and applesauce. Mix until incorporated. Fold in apples and nuts or raisins if using.
  4. In a small bowl, combine crumb toppings and blend with fork. Mixture will be lumpy.
  5. Spoon batter into muffin cups 3/4 full. Lightly sprinkle tops with crumb topping.
  6. Bake in preheated oven for 20-30 minutes or until center tests done.

Gluten-Free Wednesdays

10 thoughts on “Gluten Free Apple Muffins With Crumb Topping

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by MaryBeth Lafferty, Jen Lafferty. Jen Lafferty said: @thelazygfchef…a woman at work made these gf apple muffins and they were delicious! http://bit.ly/fSuBDw #gfree #food […]

  2. MtnHarmony says:

    The website link for the flour blend does not seem to be working.

  3. Amy says:

    I made these a couple weeks ago and they were amaaaaaazing! I used my own flour blend and added yogurt AND applesauce (didn’t have any apples) but they were SUCH a hit! Definitely making these again. 😀

  4. Lisa says:

    I know this recipe is a year old, but I just found it and made it yesterday. I never comment on recipes, but this one was just phenomenal. I needed to use up some apples I had apparently been collecting in my refrigerator and searched the web for help. So many recipes used such a tiny amount of apples. I picked yours because it used 2 cups. Anyway, the muffins are amazing. I even used a different blend of flours (almond, sorghum and starches) and I can’t imagine a better result. It’s everything you want in an apple dessert…lots of tasty apples! Thanks for a great recipe.

    • Flora says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe. We love these muffins too! Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment, sometimes I wonder if anyone is even trying these recipe 🙂

  5. Kristina says:

    I stumbled upon your blog tonight, and instantly went to bake these apple muffins. They’re lovely! Thank you for sharing the recipe.

  6. Alessandra says:

    These are absolutely fabulous! I highly recommend them- made 36 of them last night!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,948 hits

Archives

Categories

