Easy Chocolate Pudding

Leave a comment

February 18, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Like most women I enjoy chocolate, a lot. Years ago, before kids and a husband, I wouldn’t think twice about spending $40 on ingredients and an entire day in the kitchen making an outrageous creation such as Chocolate Pecan Sour Mash Bash (a Desserts To Die For classic). I would elaborate, but I am sure few people share my enthusiasm for such culinary craziness. Although I have made my share of expensive over the top chocolate creations, I am finding that simple, affordable chocolate desserts are really much more practical for my everyday life now. I rarely I have an entire day to devote to one of Marcel Desaulniers’ recipes anymore, and besides they are far from gluten free. So, on a busy weekday when I just want something chocolate, I’ll make up some chocolate pudding. It’s affordable and easy enough an older child or teen should be able to make it with little or no assistance.

If you have kids in the kitchen, allow them to lick the spoons, the pan, whatever has warm chocolate pudding on it; they’ll love this part. I find this recipe particularly easy, with ingredients I have in my pantry, so I put “easy” in the title, but my toddler prefers to call it “Black Pudding.” And I just use whatever milk I have in the fridge, 1%, 2%, soy, it’ll all work.

Easy Chocolate Pudding pictured with lemon pie filling.

Easy Chocolate Pudding

  • 1/2 cup sugar (I prefer brown sugar, but white will also work)
  • 5 Tb unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch (if using as a pie filling, increase cornstarch to 1/2 cup)
  • dash salt
  • 2 3/4 cups milk
  • 2 Tb butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  1. In medium sauce pan, combine all ingredients. Stirring constantly, bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Cook until mixture is thick and coats the back of a spoon.
  2. Remove from heat and pour into glass or heat proof dish; allow to cool 10 minutes.
  3. Place plastic wrap directly on pudding, this will prevent a film from forming. Refrigerate until chilled.
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 19,948 hits

Archives

Categories

