Oven-Fried Bacon

1

February 15, 2010 by Flora Dawn

What’s not to like about bacon? Well, I can think of one thing, cooking it. Bacon cooked in a pan tends to messy and cook unevenly, so when I heard an America’s Test Kitchen tip to bake your bacon, I was all ears. I know people who cook their bacon in a microwave (I haven’t tried this), but I hadn’t really considered cooking bacon in an oven before. America’s Test Kitchen stated to cook 1 pound at a time on a rimmed baking sheet, but I prefer a broiler pan so the fat drips down. My broiler pan only holds 10 slices of bacon, so I modified their directions slightly. I am not sure this is much of a recipe, I would call it more a tip or technique. It does make cooking bacon easier, too bad you still have to wash the pan.

*Apparently not all bacon is gluten-free, some of the cheaper brands use soy sauce as an additive. Don’t forget to read those labels.

Oven-Fried Bacon

1/2 pound bacon (about 8 slices-10 slices)

  1. Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 400.
  2. Arrange bacon on rimmed baking sheet or a broiler pan. I like the broiler pan because the fat will drip down. The slices can overlap some.
  3. Bake until crisp and brown, 10-15 minutes, rotating pan about half way through cooking time.
  4. Transfer bacon to paper towel lined plate and let excess fat drain before cooking.
One thought on “Oven-Fried Bacon

  1. […] 8 slices of crumbled oven-fried bacon […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,386 hits

Archives

Categories

