Almost Graham Crackers (a gluten free cracker)

3

February 10, 2010 by Flora Dawn

You don’t realize how much you enjoy something until it is gone. I realize now I like graham crackers, a lot. Apparently graham flour is full of gluten. Who knew?

At first it doesn’t seem like a big deal. But soon after going gluten free I had a realization: crustless cheesecake, no more s’mores around the campfire, what if I had leftover fudge frosting? And these were just my concerns, not my kids’. Graham crackers are a great on the go snack. You just break them up and put them in a resealable bag and throw them in the purse or lunchbox, so my kids were pretty upset.

At first I thought I would just find some gluten free crackers at the grocery store. Not that simple. My teenage daughter has a tree nut allergy, so now I have to find a gluten free, nut free cracker that tastes good. We tried a few brands, they cost a fortune and tasted like cardboard.

Finally, I came across Jules Sheppard’s Nearly Normal Cookbook and she had a recipe for graham-like crackers. They aren’t exactly a graham cracker, but they are a pretty darn good cracker, almost a gingersnap flavor and texture. If you roll them too thin or cook them a little too long they do get a bit crunchy for my liking. But you can just microwave them for 15-20 seconds and they’ll soften right up. You can also use cookie cutters to cut them out instead of the suggested rectangle shapes, and you can call them cookies. You could also sprinkle them with cinnamon and sugar before baking.

These crackers are nice for snacking, but what I really love is the crumbs they make. Put a few of these crackers in the food processor and you have the perfect gluten free graham cracker crumbs. I pour the crumbs into a resealable freezer bag and toss them into the freezer until I need them. They can be used just as you would graham cracker crumbs in all your favorite recipes. I have made several pie and cheesecake crusts and they have turned out perfectly.

The dough for the crackers looks like this.

The rolled out crackers, not cut so neatly.

Almost Graham Crackers all cooked and ready to eat.

Almost Graham Crackers (a gluten free cracker)

In Nearly Normal Cooking, the cookbook, the recipe calls for 1/4 cup honey, however, in one of the author’s e-books it is stated as 3/4 cup honey. I have made it both ways and they turn out. It really depends on how sweet you prefer the crackers.

  • 3/4 cup butter or shortening
  • 1/4-3/4 cup honey
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour blend
  • 1 cup white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup buckwheat or brown rice flour (I prefer the brown rice, but they both work well)
  • dash of salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon ( I use heaping tsp)
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup cold water
  1. In a large bowl, beat together butter, honey, sugar and vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix flours, salt, cinnamon, and baking powder. Slowly stir the dry mixture into the first bowl, adding water as necessary to form the dough into a ball.
  2. Divide dough in half, wrap each half in plastic wrap and press down to form a disk shape, similar to how you would prepare pie crust, and refrigerate for ate least two hours or until very cold (I have tossed the dough into the freezer for about 20 minutes, but just don’t forget about it )
  3. Preheat oven to 325
  4. Roll dough to 1/8-1/4 inch thickness, on a  surface dusted with gluten free flour mix or cornstarch. The thicker the dough, the softer the cookie.
  5. Cut into small rectangles and prick with a fork to look like graham crackers. You could also use cookie cutters or a biscuit cutter if you like.
  6. Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until lightly browned. let them cool on baking sheet for 5 miutes before removing to cooling rack.
3 thoughts on “Almost Graham Crackers (a gluten free cracker)

  1. […] is a very good alternative to a traditional graham cracker crust. You have to make the Almost Graham Crackers and create crumbs. The easiest way to do this is to throw the crackers in a food processor, but you […]

  2. Joe says:

    Hello,

    I found your recipe while during to locate a Gluten Free recipe, it sounds great except I have one question do you really use 3/4 cups honey?

    Thanks.
    Joe

  3. Flora says:

    Joe, Thank you for catching that mistake. You are right, that is way too much honey, it should read 1/4 a cup and I corrected it. I apologize.

    I am also testing another graham-like cracker. I’ll be sure to post it if it turns out.

    Update, it turns out the author has this recipe listed in her cookbook as 1/4 cup honey, however, in her e-book I have it calls for 3/4 cup honey. I have made it both ways, and it works either way.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,437 hits

Archives

Categories

