Gluten Free Banana Cupcakes with Honey-Cinnamon Frosting

10

January 27, 2010 by Flora Dawn

We enjoy muffins and cupcakes at our house. They make such a nice breakfast or snack on the go. And once frosted, they are somehow transformed to a dessert.

However, the gluten free muffin recipes I have tried have been less than appetizing. Sure, they are edible, so if we are eating for nutrition alone they could suffice. But they are not enjoyable, not delicious.

After trying several different things,  it seems to me that gluten free cakes and muffins are best made with a fruit and either sour cream or yogurt to keep them moist and flavorful.

I went to my cupboard and pulled out a tried and true recipe from America’s favorite domestic goddess, Martha Stewart. She calls it Banana cupcakes, but if you hold the frosting, it tastes just like a banana muffin to me. The frosting really turns this into something special. It is one of the best frosting  recipes I have ever tried.

I modified the cupcake recipe slightly to make it gluten free, of course using a gluten free flour mix in place of the all-purpose flour and adding  1/4 cup sour cream, to make sure it had the right texture. I also like to add flax meal, but it’s not necessary. They were fabulous! My husband groaned when he saw I had attempted muffins once again, and then he ate a bite and another and announced that they were excellent and that they didn’t taste like rice flour at all. Perhaps that is the best compliment a gluten free chef can get  🙂

Frosted Banana Cupcake looking cute displayed on a cupcake stand.

Gluten Free Banana Cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour blend
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 Tb flax meal, optional
  • 1/2 cup ( 1 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas ( about 4 ripe bananas)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup sour cream ( I use light) or plain yogurt

1. Preheat oven to 350. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners. In a medium bowl whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and flax if using.

2. In a small bowl mix together butter, bananas, eggs, vanilla, and sour cream. Stir into the flour mixture and mix well. Divide evenly into prepared muffin cups.

3. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Remove cupcakes form pan and cool completely before frosting.

Honey-Cinnamon Frosting

  • 1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 cup ( 1 stick) butter, at room temperature
  • 1 Tb honey
  • 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon

1. Combine the frosting ingredients in medium bowl and beat with electric mixer 4-5 minutes or until light and fluffy.

Gluten-Free Wednesdays

10 thoughts on “Gluten Free Banana Cupcakes with Honey-Cinnamon Frosting

  1. Shareen says:

    This is a great recipe! Thanks for sharing…i replaced a cup of the flour with almond meal and added in some dark chocolate chunks and chopped walnuts for added texture and omitted the frosting altogether…thumbs up!

    • Flora says:

      Glad you enjoyed it! I love good, basic recipes that can be changed depending on mood or preferences 🙂 My daughter has a serious tree nut allergy so we don’t get to experiment with almond meal, but I have heard it is great and adds a lot of flavor to gluten free baked goods.

  2. Brie says:

    Thanks for the recipe! I substituted pumpkin for the banana and added some yummy spices. They turned out very nice. Better than any cake mix!

  3. Flora says:

    @Brie
    Glad you enjoyed them. Sometimes I wonder how they can sell some of the gf mixes, they taste so bad.

  4. […] This week I wanted to get something to a family I had been thinking about all week.  There are some dietary concerns, so that meant researching treat options.  The winner was Gluten Free Banana Cupcakes.  […]

  5. Jen says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I was asked to make a gluten-free banana cupcake for a friend, and decided to give these a go. I did add about 3/4 cup hot water to the batter at the very end for a fluffier texture, as I was looking more for a cupcake than a muffin. They turned out really well!

  6. sariah says:

    I’ve never commented on a recipe before but had to on these! I had some ripe bananas and googled a recipe to make with them. I stumbled on these and am so glad i did! They are fantastic! I used all brown rice flour and added a 1/4 cup hot water at the very end to get them a little fluffier. Next time I think I will add the full 3/4 cup of hot water per Jen’s comment to get them more like cupcake texture. However they were amazing! My husband who is not gluten free loved them and said they didn’t even taste gluten free! Will definitely be saving this recipe. The Honey Cinnamon frosting is also very good!

    • Flora says:

      With brown rice and bananas they’re almost healthy too! So happy to hear they turned out well. Thanks for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed the recipe.

  7. karen says:

    These were delicious and I put chocolate frosting on top. Will make them again soon!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 17,091 hits

Archives

Categories

