The Best Gluten Free Flour Blend

9

January 22, 2010 by Flora Dawn

Let’s talk flours. There are so many gluten free flour mixes out there. And every one claims to be the best. I have tried quite a few of the recipes found on the internet and in popular cookbooks and I have been less than impressed with most.

This one is the best I have tried, although probably not the healthiest out there. I love that the ratios are simple, this makes it so easy to double and triple the recipe. This is the closest I have found to a gluten free flour replacement and can be substituted, with some caution, for all-purpose flour in your favorite recipes. I really encourage you to find one, favorite gluten free flour mix to be able to keep on hand at all times. It will make the task of cooking and baking gluten free so much easier. If you have a different flour mix you like better let me know, I am always looking for suggestions.

502

Gluten Free Flour Blend

  • 1 cup white rice flour
  • 1 cup potato starch
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup corn flour
  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour (I now substitute with arrowroot starch or another starch; we find tapioca leaves a bitter taste to some baked goods)
  • 4 tsp xantham gum

Pour all ingredients into a large bowl with lid or plastic resealable bag and shake until mixed. This can also be stirred, but the flours are very light and will most likely make a mess of you and your kitchen.
source: The ratios are from the Nearly Normal cookbook by Jules Shepard

9 thoughts on “The Best Gluten Free Flour Blend

  1. […] 1 cup gluten free flour blend […]

  2. […] 1 cup gluten free flour blend […]

  3. […] 2 1/2 cups gluten free flour blend […]

  4. […] only change I needed to make to my regular recipe was use my favorite gluten free flour blend (that has xanthan gum in it). I know a lot of people dislike flour blends, but I really think this […]

  5. […] only adaptation I had to make was to use my favorite gluten free flour blend. And although I use several different gluten free flour blends, this one remains my favorite for […]

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 18,437 hits

Archives

Categories

